Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2012, 05:20 PM
remusjacobs remusjacobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Default Midi Editing problem

Hi, ive been using PT since PT6 and havent had this problem before, maybe somebody can help me.
Basically i record a midi sequence, quantize it, then chop off any dead space prior to the clip. whenever i trim the clip to what i need the first midi note is always erased. the mid note isnt even part of the area im deleting. its very strange.
even when I use the actual "trim tool" and get my clip shortened it still cuts off the first note.
any help would be great, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2012, 06:19 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Midi Editing problem

This might be an okay workaround. Before you trim, drag the first note(s) a little to the right so they are not against the grid line. Then move them back after you trim. For me, midi has always seemed a bit like 50% luck, 45% skill and 5% black magic
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2012, 10:42 PM
remusjacobs remusjacobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Default Re: Midi Editing problem

Thanks david. thats actually what i do lol. but I'm just looking for a permanent fix. I use PT on a mac, a friend of mine uses it on a PC, we both have the same problem. I never had this with older versions though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2012, 12:36 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 113
Default Re: Midi Editing problem

This was an issue I saw on another thread. Someone replied claiming to work for Avid saying there was an update that was going to fix this problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi editing problem HKnight Windows 8 01-07-2013 08:39 AM
midi editing problem bens10 Pro Tools 9 3 12-23-2011 04:48 PM
Problem with midi editing lydde 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-27-2007 02:38 AM
Please help me with midi editing problem jef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-02-2004 09:41 PM
Midi editing problem... lukeyy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-20-2002 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com