Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:17 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default 10.5.7

In between projects... So thought I'd mess with a perfectly functioning setup!

10.5.7 running ok so far.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2009, 10:12 AM
Roz.w Roz.w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Smile Re: 10.5.7

Living on the edge as always!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2009, 12:53 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: 10.5.7

Hello there!
Well you know me, bit dangerous and interesting.

Good move to sign up to the DUC, there are some cool and clued up people hanging around. Like an instruction manual you can talk to!

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:10 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,549
Default Re: 10.5.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
there are some cool and clued up people hanging around.
Then there are those who install unqualified OS

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:45 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: 10.5.7

Who'd as a 'just in case' done a complete Carbon Copy Cloner image of their boot drive. So I'm only a bit of a loose cannon!

Addicted to shiny new things, can't resist it.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:30 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,198
Default Re: 10.5.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Who'd as a 'just in case' done a complete Carbon Copy Cloner image of their boot drive. So I'm only a bit of a loose cannon!

Addicted to shiny new things, can't resist it.

Pete

Good for you.. If we waited for Digi. Another version would be out before. I am sure it's fine. The last two I did without any problems and with some improvement. I will wait until I am done with my current score. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2009, 11:38 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: 10.5.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
In between projects... So thought I'd mess with a perfectly functioning setup!

10.5.7 running ok so far.

Pete
No slap to you Pete, but others thinking of making the dive, be aware "running ok so far" are the key words in the initial post. This is not a blessing to "go ahead" because the problems often show up at the worst of times weeks down the road. I suggest, unless you have too much time on your hands, ask yourself the question "do I really need to do this" first and listen to the answer.

Even a carbon copy of your system drive can leave you with a whole bunch of work to get you back to what was a previous perfect system.

If you really want to play, do the carbon copy of your drive, and then upgrade the copy of the drive, leaving the original system disk as-it-was.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2009, 12:13 AM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: 10.5.7

As far as I'm concerned, a new release from digi is more suspect than a new release from Apple....

But nonetheless I continue using PT8.0cs2 on 10.5.6, a true glutton for punishment, as i sit embarassed in front of my clients with two or three beach balls of doom per day.

10.5.7? Why not? How could things be worse?
__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-2009, 12:56 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: 10.5.7

Dear All

Please excuse my MacIgnorance (no I am not Scottish) but what does ....

"Even a carbon copy of your system drive can leave you with a whole bunch of work to get you back to what was a previous perfect system." .... mean exactly?

I am a Super Duper user (software, not DUC status) and would have thought Pete was safe. Please educate me

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:52 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: 10.5.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardk View Post
No slap to you Pete, but others thinking of making the dive, be aware "running ok so far" are the key words in the initial post. This is not a blessing to "go ahead" because the problems often show up at the worst of times weeks down the road. I suggest, unless you have too much time on your hands, ask yourself the question "do I really need to do this" first and listen to the answer.
Yes, that was the implied caveat. I've not been doing full 'regression testing' on it no. I've installed it and it hasn't blown up on me yet is about the size of it. I'm post based so horrible things could have happened to MIDI or something without me noticing!

I've had to use Carbon Copy backups before and they work perfectly. Obviously you lose anything you've done in the intervening period but
I've had absolutely no issues.

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com