Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2008, 01:15 AM
Shizzle408 Shizzle408 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default 1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HELLLPP

We are seeting up a digi 002 rack in my house and we set it up it was working fine. Left for 5 min came back in the room and a error meesage came up that said the 002 rack was disconnected.. Nobody touched anything. Now the 1394 light in front of the rack will not come on at all. i unplugged the firewire and reset all the cables. Turned off the rack restared my comp, Still No go?!?!?! I dont get it everything is connected the same way. The computer see when i turn the rack on and off. And I still dont get any respnse from my 002 rack.... now i am stumped.... Anybody have any ideals why this is happening? Pls I need help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,836
Default Re: 1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HEL

2 words for you. POWER HARNESS. It is a known and very common problem with the 002. I recommend trying another firewire cable as they do go bad but, the harness is likely the trouble. Sometimes, just reseating all the connections inside will get you up and running again and DIGI is very good about providing free replacements to registered owners beyond any warrantee period. If you are not the registered owner(like you bought it used) I have a few harnesses from a batch of DIGI parts I got from a defunct DIGI service shop and can sell one of $25 shipped anywhere in the USA. BTW, one of the dead giveaway clues is constant clicking from the unit.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2008, 06:12 AM
subcinco subcinco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: 1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HEL

years ago I had the power harness issue. i got the repair parts from digidesign and everything was fine. But last night, a new problem. The firewire connection from the computer to the rack 002 became unstable, or intermittant. Luckily I got it to hang on and we did the session. But now i am very concerned. At first it said device removal error, when the computer lost contact with the hard drive. i tried to restart my session and it said protools hardware not available. I started swapping cables and realized that my 1394 lights were not lit even though everything was connected. When I first inserted the cable to the rack 002 it would light and then go out shortly there after. I was very close to making an emergency rental when sudden;y it decided to work. Thank God for small miracles, but now what? Anyone else have a flaky 1394 jack? BTW both jacks seemed to behave the same way. FIrst a light and then nothing. Sometimes relighting after cable jiggling.
remember, if it don't work just jiggle it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2008, 10:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,836
Default Re: 1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HEL

FWIW, I have had a firewire cable fail for no apparent reason so I always keep spares on hand (www.cablestogo.com)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2009, 03:42 PM
R.OConnor R.OConnor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: 1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by subcinco View Post
years ago I had the power harness issue. i got the repair parts from digidesign and everything was fine. But last night, a new problem. The firewire connection from the computer to the rack 002 became unstable, or intermittant. Luckily I got it to hang on and we did the session. But now i am very concerned. At first it said device removal error, when the computer lost contact with the hard drive. i tried to restart my session and it said protools hardware not available. I started swapping cables and realized that my 1394 lights were not lit even though everything was connected. When I first inserted the cable to the rack 002 it would light and then go out shortly there after. I was very close to making an emergency rental when sudden;y it decided to work. Thank God for small miracles, but now what? Anyone else have a flaky 1394 jack? BTW both jacks seemed to behave the same way. FIrst a light and then nothing. Sometimes relighting after cable jiggling.
remember, if it don't work just jiggle it.
this sounds like a core audio/wave driver problem. Happend with my 002.

make sure your system prefs do not allow the 002 to handle system/non PT sound as it will randomly disconnect when switching between attached clients
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1394 light goes out Opel33 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-06-2012 09:10 PM
003 Host/1394 light intermittently not coming on. PT can't find hardware! DJ Hellfire Windows 5 07-08-2011 01:38 PM
003 rack is not connecting. Blinking green light. no HOST 1394 light. ccgascity1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-14-2011 12:41 PM
1394 light not on lpfan799 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-13-2009 08:59 AM
No 1394 light Plectrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-10-2005 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com