Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2021, 04:08 AM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 64
Default EuCon a routable (Layer 3) protocol?

Hi there,
question to the networking nerds around here.
I'm looking into advanced remote workflow possibilities and ask myself if on a technical basis connecting a Eucon surface over a WAN to a DAW somewhere else is possible?

Just on a basic protocol level. Yes I know latency can be an issue.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2021, 03:50 AM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: EuCon a routable (Layer 3) protocol?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmokrator View Post
Hi there,
question to the networking nerds around here.
I'm looking into advanced remote workflow possibilities and ask myself if on a technical basis connecting a Eucon surface over a WAN to a DAW somewhere else is possible?

Just on a basic protocol level. Yes I know latency can be an issue.

Thanks!
Eddie, Jeff, any info from your side?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2021, 10:05 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: EuCon a routable (Layer 3) protocol?

Yes Latency will be the main issue plus ports being blocked. As its real time data, if EUCON starts missing messages it can go downhill fast.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'd pay money for a Eucon / Studio One protocol BoomTap Artist Series 5 10-12-2017 01:20 PM
EUCON vs HUI protocol sw rec Pro Tools 12 4 10-05-2015 11:35 AM
Has Eucon Protocol been updated? clusterer Avid S6 1 10-24-2013 05:42 PM
EuCon protocol openness LukeHoward System 5 1 02-25-2011 04:59 AM
eucon protocol problem with Sonnox EQ larskrarup Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-11-2010 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com