Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2015, 02:27 AM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default Command 8 Fader issue. Can anyone help please?

Hello. This is my first post, so I'm not too up to date with etiquette.
My Command 8 (4 years old) has developed a little issue.
The faders jump around when I switch the unit on (whether I'm running Pro Tools or not).
All I have to do is pull the faders back down and it's good to go. However, when I am in pro Tools (10,11 or 12) and I page through the tracks. Going forward is fine, going back through the pages, the display on my Command 8 and the faders 'judder'.

I have already re-installed / re-flashed the firmware. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ray.

Boot issue : https://youtu.be/GSbSIgHNjgs

Page issue :https://youtu.be/07kIFSP-OCI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2015, 01:55 AM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default

I should point out that when I have the 'switching on' issue, it is ALWAYS different faders that have the issues. Not the same each time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2015, 11:39 PM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2015, 09:43 PM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default

If just like to say thank you for the huge help that you have all given me with this issue. It's so nice to know there is a warm, friendly community that is always there to lend a hand when us novices need guidance.
The quality of assistance I have had from this forum is matched only by the quality of assistance I have received directly from Avid.
Breathtaking.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2015, 12:54 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,973
Default

Have you taken the base off and inside disconnected the faders blown the dust out then reconnected them. I've had this issue and that sorted it out for me.

PS this a great forum and there are lots of helpful people on here
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2015, 01:05 AM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default

Hi Raoul23. Thanks for posting.
Yes, I have tried this. Unfortunately, it didn't work.
The only thing I can think of doing is taking it to an Avid repair / service centre and having them look at it.
Thanks for your time though. I do appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2015, 01:13 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,973
Default

If you get them to sort it they will prob charge you a fortune I'd just buy another off eBay
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2015, 01:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,464
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
If you get them to sort it they will prob charge you a fortune I'd just buy another off eBay
Good advice^^^ but before you do that, I would open the unit and re-seat every connection you can find(actually unplug-replug each connection several times each). Why? because the Command8 is of a vintage that is similar to most 002 and Control24 units and those were pretty notorious for have wiring/connection issues. Spraying some De-oxit at the same time is also not a bad idea
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2015, 09:00 PM
rpl16a rpl16a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire. UK
Posts: 13
Default Command 8 Fader issue. Can anyone help please?

albee1952 Thank you. Sound advice. I'll do this today. I have already tried this. I just unplugged and re-plugged the faders. This time I'll do every connection I can unplug, plus, I'll spray the contacts. I have some switch / contact cleaner and anti-static air cleaner. I'll give them a go. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2015, 07:49 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,514
Default Re: Command 8 Fader issue. Can anyone help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpl16a View Post
I have already re-installed / re-flashed the firmware. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Did you get it sorted Ray? Is updating the firmware like the Pro Control? Where you just log into PT and it happens auto-magically?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 Fader Issue howellette Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 05-24-2014 04:03 PM
D-Command ES + Fader Madule Fader Problems FedericoF ICON & C|24 11 05-24-2013 04:27 PM
FAder Issue D-Command kd_special ICON & C|24 9 07-10-2010 10:30 AM
Command 8 Fader Issue iron_aidan ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 9 12-06-2008 10:49 AM
'Fader Pack' and ProControl Fader order issue Ciaran ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 03-21-2005 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com