Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2019, 11:39 AM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 382
Default Extra Time Added To Bounces

This is driving me crazy. I'm sure it's some simple pref or something I'm just not aware of.

When I do offline bounces, there is often an extra 2 second pad added at the end and beginning of the file. It doesn't show up though until I "pull" it out, so unless I remember to always check, I'm often sending clients or associates working rough mixes that have a painful 2 seconds of silence at the top of the tune. I thought it might be pre-roll, but that's not it.

help.

Windows 10 Pro, PT 12.4
__________________
Analogies are like sandwiches in that I am not making one right now.

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2019, 02:19 PM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Are you highlighting the part of the song to bounce? If not it will bounce the length of the longest track in the session.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2019, 02:40 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,921
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Including hidden tracks
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2019, 03:06 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,283
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Including hidden tracks
Good catch!

Yeah we learned the hard way that hidden tracks were affecting the timeline which in hindsight makes perfect sense but at the time we didn’t know about that hehe
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2019, 03:27 PM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 382
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

I usually select a marker and shift click another marker. Occasionally, however, I highlight a previous mix to delineate the desired length.
__________________
Analogies are like sandwiches in that I am not making one right now.

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2019, 03:55 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,027
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Handles?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2019, 04:13 PM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 382
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

I've never purposely used handles - don't know what they are!

Update: okay, now I know what they are. Interestingly, when I tested handles by equing a track and selecting "clip by clip", the default length in the bottom of the window was 2 seconds, which is exactly what the added length (at both ends) is when I do my offline bounces. But I see nothing in the interface window when I bounce that enables or disables handles.

I'll be more intentional moving forward to see if this behavior only occurs when I'm using markers, or if perhaps it's when I'm highlighting a previous audio file to delineate length.
__________________
Analogies are like sandwiches in that I am not making one right now.

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/


Last edited by Steve@ZooWest; 02-18-2019 at 04:49 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2019, 05:30 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,027
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Look in Preferences. You can set the handle length there. I don't know for sure that that is the issue, just mentioning it in case it is.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2019, 08:04 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,590
Default Re: Extra Time Added To Bounces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@ZooWest View Post
I usually select a marker and shift click another marker...
Yes!!! I create markers called "Start" & "End"; make sure "End" is after reverb tail. Click start, shift click end. Bounce.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounces out of time 12.4HD brianjanthony Pro Tools 12 0 01-13-2016 01:22 PM
extra notes added to MIDI track musicman691 Pro Tools 11 0 03-08-2014 05:33 AM
When making mp3's extra length is added Swartling Post - Surround - Video 4 07-22-2011 03:03 AM
Several Bounces at the same time Nico Volonte Post - Surround - Video 2 04-26-2010 03:42 AM
DIGI FEEDBACK: 'Real Time' Bounces-Time Effective? csiking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2005 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com