Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #911  
Old 11-12-2002, 11:35 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

No need to mess with motherboard jumpers here. Follow my post above.
Reply With Quote
  #912  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:07 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by JMS40:
As I've said, there are options for where you are at now. I think using M$'s FDISK and FORMAT would be confusing for you, so here's what I reccomend as the easiest method.

Go here and download the Windows Diskette version of Disk Manager 2000 for IBM drives:
http://www.storage.ibm.com/hdd/suppo....htm#diskmgr2k
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">The diskette version creates a bootable diskette that includes Disk Manager. The bootable diskette also contains the IBM Drive Fitness Test (DFT).
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Once you've created this boot disk, shut down your system.

Unplug your system drive completely.

Connect your audio drive, jumpered as "master", to the primary #1 IDE port on your motherboard.

Place the boot floppy in the drive, reboot, enter Bios setup and double check that the first boot device is set to "floppy".

Exit Bios setup. The system will reboot and automatically run the Disk manager from the floppy.

Follow the program instructions to setup your drive.
(We've disconnected the system drive so Disk Manager will only see the new drive and you won't have to worry about mucking up your System drive.)
When the program tells you the process is complete, push your computer power button to shut down your computer. ( Don't Ctrl>Alt>Del for a reboot here since we need to reconnect your drives.)

With the power off, reconnect your system drive to the Promise PCI card, IDE 1... on it's own cable, jumpered as "master".
Unplug your "audio" drive from the port on your motherboard, the one you just formatted, and connect it to the Promise PCI card, IDE 2... on it's own cable, jumpered as "master".
Remove the Disk Manager floppy from the drive and restart your system.
You should be set.
<hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I will follow this step by step now.
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #913  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:15 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by JMS40:
As I've said, there are options for where you are at now. I think using M$'s FDISK and FORMAT would be confusing for you, so here's what I reccomend as the easiest method.

Go here and download the Windows Diskette version of Disk Manager 2000 for IBM drives:
http://www.storage.ibm.com/hdd/suppo....htm#diskmgr2k
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">The diskette version creates a bootable diskette that includes Disk Manager. The bootable diskette also contains the IBM Drive Fitness Test (DFT).
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Once you've created this boot disk, shut down your system.

Unplug your system drive completely.

Connect your audio drive, jumpered as "master", to the primary #1 IDE port on your motherboard.

Place the boot floppy in the drive, reboot, enter Bios setup and double check that the first boot device is set to "floppy".

Exit Bios setup. The system will reboot and automatically run the Disk manager from the floppy.

Follow the program instructions to setup your drive.
(We've disconnected the system drive so Disk Manager will only see the new drive and you won't have to worry about mucking up your System drive.)
When the program tells you the process is complete, push your computer power button to shut down your computer. ( Don't Ctrl>Alt>Del for a reboot here since we need to reconnect your drives.)

With the power off, reconnect your system drive to the Promise PCI card, IDE 1... on it's own cable, jumpered as "master".
Unplug your "audio" drive from the port on your motherboard, the one you just formatted, and connect it to the Promise PCI card, IDE 2... on it's own cable, jumpered as "master".
Remove the Disk Manager floppy from the drive and restart your system.
You should be set.
<hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">A couple of things. The computer I am building is not and will not be connected to the internet.
1.) Is it ok to download this stuff on my other PC's floppy and then take that disk and put it into my new machine?

2.) That link has a confusing message. "Windows XP / 2000 users: Chances are, you won't need to use Disk Manager. Since Windows 2000 and Windows XP scan the bus itself, ignoring the BIOS, your Operating System should see the full size of the drive. If you are installing a drive on system using the Award 4.5x BIOS, the you should still follow the Ontrack Data International solution for 33GB BIOS lock-up advice to avoid having your hard drive hang during the drive detection stage of system startup (boot)."

This has been my confusion all along. Do I have to do this through a boot diskette?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #914  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:23 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by j old school:
Jay,

shut off your system, hook up your audio drive to the promise slot #2 (jumpers can be set to master). Boot up your computer. Go to control panel, view classic style, go to administration tools, than computer management (i think - going off of memory here), than disc management. Now you should see both drives on the list. Your audio drive should probably be labelled as "not initialized". You can right click on it to create the partition, and format the drive. Digi says you should chose cluster size of 16k or 32k (the larger cluster size should be better performance, but slightly reduces usable disc space) I'm not sure which is better, FAT32 or NTFS. I'm trying to find out for myself...anyone?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">J Old School and JMS40 each list different ways to accomplish this formatting task. In trying to do JMS40's version, I realized that the DC957.exe downloaded boot app. is 1.63 MB, too big for either floppy drive on either PC (my disks are 1.44 MB).

J Old School's way of doing this is seemingly simpler since it involves no boot diskettes but I tried that before and was unsuccessful. If I do your method again, I don't have to touch anything in the BIOS again, before I reboot right?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #915  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:29 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Terrien:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by j old school:
Jay,

shut off your system, hook up your audio drive to the promise slot #2 (jumpers can be set to master). Boot up your computer. Go to control panel, view classic style, go to administration tools, than computer management (i think - going off of memory here), than disc management. Now you should see both drives on the list. Your audio drive should probably be labelled as "not initialized". You can right click on it to create the partition, and format the drive. Digi says you should chose cluster size of 16k or 32k (the larger cluster size should be better performance, but slightly reduces usable disc space) I'm not sure which is better, FAT32 or NTFS. I'm trying to find out for myself...anyone?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">J Old School and JMS40 each list different ways to accomplish this formatting task. In trying to do JMS40's version, I realized that the DC957.exe downloaded boot app. is 1.63 MB, too big for either floppy drive on either PC (my disks are 1.44 MB).

J Old School's way of doing this is seemingly simpler since it involves no boot diskettes but I tried that before and was unsuccessful. If I do your method again, I don't have to touch anything in the BIOS again, before I reboot right?
<hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">In order to follow JMS40's steps, can I burn the large boot app. onto a CD and then insert that in my new computer's CD-RW? If I put the CD-RW as the first device on the boot list in place of the floppy, would it read the contents of the disk and then load the applicable disk manager so I can format?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #916  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:36 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Once again, yes there are many options, all legitimate ways to accomplish setting up your drive.
I'm trying to give you, as a first timer, what I think would be the easiest and safest way to go about the process... just my opinion.
BTW, this is why I suggest that you completely disconnect your system drive before you run Disk Manager.
That way you have no chance of ruining the hard work you've already put into setting that drive up.

The file you are downloading will not be directly transfered to the floppy. You download it, put a blank floppy in your drive and click on the file.
It will create a boot floppy for you.

If your boot order is still:
Device 1-Floppy
Device 2-cdrom
Device 3-SCSI

no, you won't have to make any changes in BIOS.
I just asked you to verify that setup.
Reply With Quote
  #917  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:41 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Terrien:
In order to follow JMS40's steps, can I burn the large boot app. onto a CD and then insert that in my new computer's CD-RW? If I put the CD-RW as the first device on the boot list in place of the floppy, would it read the contents of the disk and then load the applicable disk manager so I can format?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">No-
Once again, the file you are downloading from IBM is not directly transfered to a floppy.
You click on the file with a blank floppy in the drive and that file will create a boot floppy for you.
There are instructions on the IBM site...
Reply With Quote
  #918  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:56 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

[quote]Originally posted by JMS40:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by Jay Terrien:
Quote:
In order to follow JMS40's steps, can I burn the large boot app. onto a CD and then insert that in my new computer's CD-RW? If I put the CD-RW as the first device on the boot list in place of the floppy, would it read the contents of the disk and then load the applicable disk manager so I can format?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">No-
Once again, the file you are downloading from IBM is not directly transfered.
You click on the file with a blank floppy in the drive and the file will create a boot floppy for you.
There are instructions on the IBM site...
<hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">OK, so on my other PC, I clicked on the app and installed it on my A drive floppy. Can I now take that floppy out and use it on my other computer? This should work right? Then I can go ahead and follow JMS40's steps?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #919  
Old 11-12-2002, 02:02 PM
riffing riffing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 98
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Jay,

So you have your system drive on the Promise card and booting to XP? Good job!

Not to step on JMS40's tip, but an alternative way is using FDISK. Probably the reason JMS40 did not direct you this way is you can easily wipe out your system drive if you're not careful and you'll have to reinstall the OS. I don't have FDISK handy so I'll have to wait until I get home before I can give you a step-by-step.

Hopefully, JMS40 will have completely helped you by then. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

You're almost there. Way to go!
Reply With Quote
  #920  
Old 11-12-2002, 02:12 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

This quote is taken from quite a bit back in our discussion... before we were dealing with only your second drive.
Do not insert your XP disk if you are following my most recent set of instructions.
The XP disk is not mentioned there.
Both FAT 32 and NTFS will work well with PTLE/XP.
I suggest you stick with Disk Manager and format FAT 32.
Yes, you can choose to format NTFS if you wish, but my most recent step by step won't apply.
If you mix and match my instructions with other methods this won't go well.
I do not suggest you create that many partitions.
Back up from that screen and choose 1 large partition or 2 40gig partitions.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Terrien:
RE: Your previous post:
Originally posted by JMS40:
Go into BIOS setup and make sure that your CDrom in included in the boot order... before HD-0.
Put your XP CD in and power up.
The system will boot from the CD.
If your disk is not partitioned and formatted XP will take care of that in setup.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 06:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 10:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 12:06 PM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 10:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com