Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1001  
Old 11-29-2002, 02:46 PM
rocman rocman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Sorry dont mean to butt in here but I have a quick question for you athlon guys. Im thinking of upgrading to athlon xp, do need ddr ram or will regular ram suffice.
__________________
One love
Reply With Quote
  #1002  
Old 11-29-2002, 02:55 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Check the specifications of your motherboard. It will either require SDRAM or DDR RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #1003  
Old 11-29-2002, 03:06 PM
rocman rocman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

sO ITS THE Mobo that decidesit (forgive my ignorance) and either one will work ok w/PT?
__________________
One love
Reply With Quote
  #1004  
Old 11-29-2002, 03:28 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by RickyBob:
Guys,

I finished building my system last night and it works like a champ. No real problems thanks to all the advice here. However, I do have a few questions now that I've done it.

1) I got the Raedon 7500 graphics card, but I ended up with the PCI version instead of the AGP version. Will this cause any problems down the line?


If you can take it back and get the AGP version, I think that's a better bet. The Digi 001 uses a pretty big slice of the available PCI bandwidth, and so do video cards. If you have (or ever plan on adding) a few other PCI cards (Promise controller, second audio card, network card, etc.) then problems may arise. Save yourself the headaches and go with the AGP vid card if at all possible.

2) I got my drives formatted and moved to the Promise controller with no problem (IBM 40G and 80G), but I can't find anyplace to turn RAID off. This is the ASUS A7V333 with MOBO. It boots into BIOS version 2.20.0.14 and then goes right into FASTTRACK 133 "Lite" 2.00.1.2.3. Is there some place other than these two programs that I need to look to turn off RAID? Or does it even matter if it's still on?

If there's no drives plugged into the onboard Promise controller, you shouldn't have any problem - it just takes few seconds longer to boot up. If you want to disable the onboard RAID, I THINK it's a mobo jumper you'll have to set. I'm sorry, but I'm not in front of mine at the moment, but the info should be in the A7V333's user guide.

3) The Volcano 7+ is really noisy. I can't see anyone recording in the same room as this thing. What do you guys do? As I see it, I've got two options. One is to build an isolation box. The second is to move the computer to a different room. I could do that, but it introduces a bunch of other questions, not the least of which is how much distance can be between the Digi001 PCI card and the unit it self?

Not sure about the V7, but with the V9, you can set things up so that the fan "varispeeds" and will run very slowly when CPU temps are lower and faster when the CPU temp goes up. This is controlled via the BIOS. Assuming that the fan in question supports this, your computer then will automatically adjust the cpu fan speed as needed. The majority of the time I find my Vocano is significantly quieter than my old (non-adjustable speed) Coolermaster fan.

P.S. I need to order Digi 001 now. Anyone recommend a good, knowledgable dealer with great prices?

I'd suggest calling Sweetwater. Their support and service are good, and prices on the Digi 001 seem to be about the same everywhere - in the neghiborhood of $800.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
Reply With Quote
  #1005  
Old 11-29-2002, 03:32 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Quote:
Originally posted by rocman:
Sorry dont mean to butt in here but I have a quick question for you athlon guys. Im thinking of upgrading to athlon xp, do need ddr ram or will regular ram suffice.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Athlons use DDR RAM. The speed of the RAM is going to depend on WHICH Athlon CPU you decide on, as well as the motherboard. For example, the Asus A7V266-E that I used to run (with an Athlon XP 1800, then a XP 2100 CPU) used PC2100 DDR RAM, while my Asus A7V333 / XP 2400 combo can use PC2700 DDR RAM.
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
Reply With Quote
  #1006  
Old 11-29-2002, 05:44 PM
j old school j old school is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 567
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

to disable RAID on the A7V333, check the manual on page 21.
Reply With Quote
  #1007  
Old 11-29-2002, 08:36 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Phil,
I may be mistaken, but I thought there were a few motherboards that took socketed Athlons that accept either regular SDRAM or DDR SDRAM.

It is not correct to say Athlons take DDR memory. It really does depend on the motherboard. An Athlon Slot A, Socket A, and XP can take a variety of kinds of memory.

The motherboard really is the determinant.

I also may have made a mistake in an earlier post about combining the PAL Heatsink with an A7V333.

You may want to see if the oversized heatsink will work with it. It only works with certain motherboards.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #1008  
Old 11-29-2002, 08:42 PM
jeffreyr jeffreyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 146
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

Either one will work with Pro Tools.

I had an A7V with an Athlon Socket A 1.4 GHz and 384 PC133 SDRAM. I got 21 tracks off the test mentioned here.

DDR memory is faster so provides better performance.

It is very expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #1009  
Old 11-29-2002, 11:08 PM
YOUNGMOESES YOUNGMOESES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 107
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

i'm picking up my computer tomorrow
(I SOMEHOW TALKED WORK INTO BUYING THIS FOR ME!!!)
for my digi 002
2 80 Gig Maxtors
P4 2.4 GHZ
Swan Firewire drive
but i have the 845 Chip...will this cause problems? digidesign suggested this chip or the 850

let me know

and do I even need a secondary sound card?
Reply With Quote
  #1010  
Old 11-30-2002, 10:44 AM
chucknkd chucknkd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: franklin, tn usa
Posts: 232
Default Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00

question for all you guys w the ASUS A7M266(single proc). what is the fastest processor i can put in this mobo. i want to upgrade from my 1.33 but cant find any info on the asus website about where the processor speed maxxes out. any help would be appreciated.
thanks!
__________________
CHUCKNKD

[url=www.myspace.com/chuckbutlermusic[/url]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 06:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 10:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 12:06 PM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 10:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com