Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2001, 05:37 AM
marc@soundpost marc@soundpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 29
Default Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

I've been hearing stories about serious problems when putting OS 9.1 on an original 9600 - 350. So I'm a bit gun shy to try upgrading the OS.
Thanks
Marc McManeus
marc@soundpostaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2001, 06:18 AM
andre tchmil andre tchmil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 292
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

9600/350 original mac
with PT 5.1 and os8.6
No problems at all
however, coming from 5.01,I had to reinstall OS8.6 completely due to the fact that I trashed a lot of the extensions not needed for 5.01
ad [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2001, 09:10 AM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

Are you saying that some system extensions not necessary for PT 5.01 are required for running PT 5.1? Can you say which, or give examples?

I realise that all the digi extensions and third party audio and MIDI extensions will have to be looked at, and that reinstalling from scratch may be the best option, but I have disk images of virgin system installs with non important (to PT5.01) extensions already removed. Is there any reason I can't build my 5.1 disk off of this pre configured (generic, no digi inits etc) sys 8.6? Or will I be missing something crucial?

9600/300 w/Newertech G3 @ 400 Mhz
ATTO dual SCSI accel for 9GB Cheetahs
System 8.6!
Miro DC30+ video card
In SBS expander chassis:
PT Mix+ 24
2 x SCII cards on TDM bus

I really don't want to buy a new computer, video card etc. I like sys 8.6. I want to run PT 5.1 - any problems? Anyone running a similar configuration successfully w/ 8.6 and 5.1? Or running 9.x on a 9600 w/ newertech G3 @ 400?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2001, 11:58 AM
nozza1 nozza1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 190
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

Running 5.1 on beige G3/300 8.6. No problems to report, Digi TechSupport UK told me they ran the same config in the office and have more issues with people running 5.1 on 9.x, so stick with 8.6 if you can.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2001, 12:32 PM
andre tchmil andre tchmil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 292
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

I had crashing problems first time I went from 5.01 to 5.1, so I reinstalled 0S8.6 and then 5.1 again.
do no the reason but this cured my problems
ad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2001, 12:36 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

Those that use PT for music fall in two camps I belive.

1) Those that prefer tape and analog boards for 'sound quality' and regard the use of such as a 'must' even or particularly, with PT sessions.

2) Those that have fully embraced the user friendly nature of working 'all in PT' and are getting on with their lives, with the hope that the audio quality issues will one day 'catch up' with their much loved PT speedy work methods.

Both groups are valid. I think you would be suprised how many out there in the pro audio field are in the 2nd group. Certainly the analog die hard group is more 'romantic'. My acts couldn't care less whats used most of them are too young to have an opinion either way.

I am in the 2nd group.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2001, 03:59 PM
marc@soundpost marc@soundpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

Thanks everyone for the speedy replies!
Looks like (as usual) my problem may have been a symptom of that dreaded disease..."Forum Hysteria".
Jules, interesting thought. I only fake being in group 1. (don't tell anyone)
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Marc McManeus
marc@soundpostaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2001, 04:51 PM
Sstudio Sstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Worthington, Ohio
Posts: 55
Default Re: Is anyone running 5.1 on OS8.6 successfully?

I'm using 8.6 on a beige desktop 300 and it runs pretty well. I have the occasional loss of audio and I have to reload the session when that happens. Thats about it.[*]null
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who is Running PT 11 HD Native successfully K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 09-27-2013 01:02 PM
Is any one running i7 970 successfully with PT9? Violet Windows 2 05-11-2011 06:00 PM
New iMac i7 successfully running PT 8.0.3 (so far) Zooce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 03-30-2010 07:52 PM
anybody running EastWest's Fab Four successfully on PT8/Pc? keithl Virtual Instruments 0 12-01-2009 07:20 AM
Is Anyone Running Kontakt Successfully with PT 6.4 Treble Hum Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-31-2004 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com