Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 07-05-2009, 06:32 AM

Smile Newbie to Protools/003+

I am new to the digital recording world. I am a sound person in a bar setting and wish to record some of the performances live. I have a Macbook Pro and the 003+. I only want to use the equipment as an interface to capture the live sound using the mics from the stage and splitters. I need to know the easiest and least complicated manner in which to set up the system. (I am also 20 years PC based and just learning the Mac.) The splitters are passive and mics include standard SM58, 57, AT 2020 and 2021, AKG D112, other Shure mics, etc. Phantom power per each channel of the Soundcraft main FOH board, 2 separate fold back systems on stage. Artists run the gambit from acoustic folk and jazz to hard rock and roll. I chose Protools because of its nature as a standard of the recording industry, but am so confused by the manual and its lack of communication on a basic level! The ultimate goal here is to provide a live CD for some of the artists' demo requirements---IMHO, for these genres, live recordings are far better than a studio recording as it shows audience reactions, something most booking people normally don't get to hear on a studio recording. It also shows how well prepared an artist actually is---there's no chance to go back and correct an error!

I am just getting started with this and any help is greatly appreciated!

Best regards,
uncledizzy
Old 07-05-2009, 11:34 AM

Default Re: Newbie to Protools/003+