Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2009, 09:00 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

I've been messing around with digi001 and PTLE 6 for years now and feel it's time to proceed, i got myself a digi003 factory version and want to get a MacBook Pro. I want to use it mainly for recording/mixing my own band and befriended bands but wouldn't mind making some extra money recording demos and stuff. I want to record 10-12 tracks at once.

I had a rough search on the DUC for hardware recommendations but couldn't find a lot of information so maybe there's some ideas you guys want to share what MBPro I should get and what I should consider hardwarewise when buying it. as far as i know I need an extra drive for audio when using PT, which ones work well for you?

thanks for your help
daniel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2009, 09:19 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

oh, one more thing, i'm going to use a focusrite octopre via adat and a spl channel 1 with the system, do i need to set up timecode for these?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:11 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

please, no help?
i'm new to this and don't want to buy the wrong mbp. i wanted to go for the 15" 2.8 ghz version with 320gb serial ata @ 7200, but it doesn't have 2 firewire ports, does it? and obvioulsy it's not supported from what i read here.

i also thought i needed 2 fw ports, one for digi 003, one for an external hd. and what external hd should i use?

or should i connect the external hd via usb?

please help me, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:20 AM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

the new MBP's are fine. you will just need to buy a fw800 to fw400 cable. connect your hard drive directly to the computer, then your 003 to your hard drive. (make sure your hard disk has two fw400 ports)

time code is not necessary. however, you will need to set your 003 to external clock and clock via adat optical if you are using the digital out of the octopre. (time code and clock are not the same thing)

i am assuming you will just be plugin the spl into an analog input?
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:24 AM
imi imi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 292
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

Can't help with the choice of MBP, but you will have to have a fast external Firewire HD ("Glyph" are the choice of many pros, www.glyphtech.com, but expensive)... HDs with Oxford chipsets work best (I believe the 934 is a good choice after the older "classic" 911)... USB is too slow for audio transfer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:26 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

thanks for you advice and that tip about fw800 to 400 cable and 2 fw400 ports on the drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by therecordinghouse View Post
i am assuming you will just be plugin the spl into an analog input?
actually i got the sp/dif extension so i intended to connect via sp/dif. yeah, i was rather talking about clock, sorry for confusing this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:47 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

i've been doing some research on glyph, apparently the only shop in germany i can get them from is music store, they carry a bunch of different drives ranging from 150 to a few grands, do i get something decent for like 300-400 euros?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2009, 07:09 AM
hki hki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La/Helsinki
Posts: 327
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

here's another choice for hard drives that people are using... http://www.macsales.com/
__________________
"It is better to remain silent and thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt".
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2009, 08:35 AM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

if you have the digital option for the spl, use that as your master clock.


SPL master clock
spdif out to 003
003 set to external clock spdif


SPL bnc out to octopre bnc in
octopre clock set to external


__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2009, 06:41 AM
wishesonaplane wishesonaplane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 45
Default Re: hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003

thanks for your help with clock. i've been thinking about getting a glyph GTO50Q but obviously this one as well as most glyph hds provide only one fw400 and two fw800 ports. can i still use these with my 003 rack?

is it possible connecting the hd with the mac via fw800 and then connecting the hd with 003 via fw400? sorry, i'm such a newbie....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot change hardware buffer size on DIGI003 krazylain Windows 14 10-28-2016 09:22 AM
Possible to get Digi003 to work with iTunes? toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-20-2008 10:23 AM
PT7.4.2pr with DIGI003 on leopard do not work for me saved69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-10-2008 04:10 AM
How Big a Learning Curve on Digi003 (002) Hardware Interface bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-14-2007 02:54 PM
Hardware recommendations? Kleekoh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-23-2003 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com