Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2014, 04:25 PM
Davi Davi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dunfermline
Posts: 5
Default No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10)

Ok, so for some reason I can't get audio to play back through my headphones in Pro Tools 10 on my laptop.

Both the headphones and the connection are fine (every other conceivable source of audio other than Pro Tools is playing back fine).

Various system sounds are also clearly coming back through the headphones, it's just the Pro Tools stuff which is coming through the speakers still.

  • Playback engine is ASIO4ALL v2
  • The I/O is stating the output as being the speakers (HD Audio Speaker 1-2). I assumed this would automatically flip to 'headphone mode' once a pair was plugged in but maybe I have to guide it to them? (had a look but ultimately i'm not too clever with this).

The only other thing I can say is that I installed the same package onto a separate desktop computer and the playback is fine there.

Cheers.

Edit: I'm using the only headphone jack on the side of my laptop, no mbox or anything; I'm under the impression it should still work without, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2014, 05:48 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,113
Default Re: No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davi View Post
Ok, so for some reason I can't get audio to play back through my headphones in Pro Tools 10 on my laptop.

Both the headphones and the connection are fine (every other conceivable source of audio other than Pro Tools is playing back fine).

Various system sounds are also clearly coming back through the headphones, it's just the Pro Tools stuff which is coming through the speakers still.

  • Playback engine is ASIO4ALL v2
  • The I/O is stating the output as being the speakers (HD Audio Speaker 1-2). I assumed this would automatically flip to 'headphone mode' once a pair was plugged in but maybe I have to guide it to them? (had a look but ultimately i'm not too clever with this).

The only other thing I can say is that I installed the same package onto a separate desktop computer and the playback is fine there.

Cheers.

Edit: I'm using the only headphone jack on the side of my laptop, no mbox or anything; I'm under the impression it should still work without, right?
You might need to check your Windows audio settings using the Windows mixer. Is the headphone jack volume control turned on? Did you accidently mute it?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2014, 07:17 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10)

You may have to enable the headphone out in the ASIO4ALL configuration.
Since this switches when you plug them in, try plugging in your headphones, then go into ASIO4ALL configuration and enable the headphones as output devices. Then fire up PT and see if it works for you. I'm not sure if you will have to change any settings in PT or not. If the headphones appear as new output devices you may have to tell PT to use them too.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2014, 04:42 AM
Davi Davi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dunfermline
Posts: 5
Default Re: No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
You might need to check your Windows audio settings using the Windows mixer. Is the headphone jack volume control turned on? Did you accidently mute it?
It's definitely on. As I said there are audible system sounds, such as the 'beep' that plays whenever you alter the volume level, so everything is fine on that front; it's just that Pro Tools isn't cooperating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
You may have to enable the headphone out in the ASIO4ALL configuration.
Since this switches when you plug them in, try plugging in your headphones, then go into ASIO4ALL configuration and enable the headphones as output devices. Then fire up PT and see if it works for you. I'm not sure if you will have to change any settings in PT or not. If the headphones appear as new output devices you may have to tell PT to use them too.
How exactly do I get into the ASIO4ALL config?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2019, 02:55 PM
TheDimSide TheDimSide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Re: No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10)

I'm having the same problem, too. Were you ever able to get this figured out?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Audio in Playback or Headphones Bradley54 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-16-2013 08:13 PM
Playback only through headphones! jikaru 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-10-2008 07:51 PM
Playback in the headphones felix822 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-12-2007 03:33 PM
No Playback through Headphones in Pro Tools 6.1 JSXtremist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-25-2003 12:51 PM
No Playback through Headphones kucharo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-04-2001 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com