Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-02-2019, 07:18 PM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 359
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
That's been their MO for a while now, for reasons mentioned above (i.e. audio post is their hot spot). For composer who lean heavily upon MIDI, PT is practically abandonedware. Opcode's StudioVision, an app from two decades ago, was FAR ahead then as compared to PT today. I swear, I'd pay $7,500 to have SV built into ProTools.
SV was too good, the industry had to kill it!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-02-2019, 07:33 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
It’s at least as “pro” as the way logic is “logical”.


Hahaha! That’s what I always say too.

Seriously though, it’s just a name.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-02-2019, 09:03 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrackerLe View Post
Eric Lambert

yes this is official.Her is the Link for example:Win10
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...ndows-10-Guide

quote
Disable Turbo Boost and C-State Transition (BIOS)
Disable Hyper-Threading
Yeesh
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-02-2019, 09:06 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Griffin View Post
SV was too good, the industry had to kill it!
Haha.

Though, in that case, it wasn't a competitor buying and then dousing Opcode's flame, it was a conglomerate who'd lost touch with its customers. That almost sounds familiar.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-02-2019, 10:18 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 406
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
That's been their MO for a while now, for reasons mentioned above (i.e. audio post is their hot spot). For composer who lean heavily upon MIDI, PT is practically abandonedware. Opcode's StudioVision, an app from two decades ago, was FAR ahead then as compared to PT today. I swear, I'd pay $7,500 to have SV built into ProTools.
I thought I was the only one who still thought about StudioVision 20 years later
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-03-2019, 12:14 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Griffin View Post
SV was too good, the industry had to kill it!
By "industry" you mean Gibson. Within a year of buying it. Because Gibson.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools AAF to Nuendo - what successfully makes the trip?! Pete Gates Post - Surround - Video 3 05-24-2014 04:28 AM
Pro Tools SE - Bug Makes Software Unusable Starwind Amada Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 05-14-2013 08:00 PM
What makes Pro Tools HD so amazing? Infiltrator Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 07-25-2010 12:39 AM
Pro Tools 6.7 makes computer restart msb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-21-2005 11:51 AM
Import Audio makes Pro Tools crash Purdy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-27-2005 02:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com