Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2011, 06:40 PM
keystation keystation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default "The installer could not install ..."

"The installer could not install because there was no software found to install."

That's the error message I'm getting when attempting to install the LE 8.01 that came with the Eleven Rack.

I've installed this once before with no problem, but I now have another computer (Power Mac G5 with Leopard 10.5.6 - pretty much the same configuration on which I installed the software before) and am running into this message.

The install prompts me through the license agreement etc. but then delivers the error message.

I can't figure out why I'm getting this message. I don't know if there is a limit to the amount of installs one is allowed, but, if there is, I can't imagine the limit would be one, which is the amount of times it has previously been installed.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. I tried unsuccessfully to find other posts about the subject.

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2011, 07:09 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: "The installer could not install ..."

There have been issues with some Install disks, though it does seem odd that it was successful once.

I would suggest contacting Avid & get them to deposit a downloadable version into your 'My Account' on Avid website.

No there isn't a limit on amount of Installs per disk.

If you do not have an account go here
https://www.avid.com/US/Account/orie...%2faccountinfo
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2011, 11:29 PM
keystation keystation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: "The installer could not install ..."

Thanks for the response, Zedhed. I'm reassured to hear that I'm not the only one who has had this problem. I'll take your advice and contact Avid. It sounds like the way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2011, 06:45 AM
keystation keystation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: "The installer could not install ..."

Zedhed -

Your advice worked. I had to open up a ticket to do so, but I was able to download the Pro Tools LE software and successfully install it. Looks like there was some kind of problem with the install disk.

Thanks again -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:31 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: "The installer could not install ..."

Glad it turned out good for ya
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation Failed The installer can't install some files in "/" alalal1979 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-20-2013 12:40 PM
Installation Failed The installer can't install some files in "/". Dean@mac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-10-2011 01:41 AM
Pro Tools 8 M-Powered "The Installer could not install the software" NateNapalm Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 13 01-17-2011 06:28 AM
Installer can't install some files in "/" Dedelman2005 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 08-09-2010 01:47 PM
TL Space - no Impulse Response library "installer" / can't install kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-22-2010 09:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com