Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:19 AM
Dopebeat Dopebeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Default Bizzare DSP/CPU feedback problem ?!?!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, my rig:

Ptool LE 6.8
Mbox 2
PC with 2.8 clock and 512 ram (yes I am going to upgrade the RAM)

My problem:

I was configuring a dual-mono reverb bus last night. So I could have one side of the D-verb set one way, and the other, the other way. I could choose between which side of the "unchained" reverb I wanted and how much I want piped from each audio channel.

3 audio channels, and the 1 D-verb auxilliary input channel. So I am not doing much here at all.

Everything runs fine, but when I pause play, my CPU usage meters jumps from about 10 percent up to 70-80 percent ! When I press play again, it all falls back down to normal.

After some tooling around, if I give the D-verb no inputs during pause, the CPU meter falls back to normal, if I disable the D-verb channel, everything goes back to normal during pause.

So, while the D-verb bus is not processing any signal and lying idol, I am getting some type of idle feedback loop or something. The only way around it seems to be to disable the D-verb during pause. This cannot be the way it is meant to be !

Maybe there is some preference, or something I need to configure so that all DSPs are automatically disabled during pause or something ?

Thoughts ? Help ? A shotgun ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:30 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Bizzare DSP/CPU feedback problem ?!?!

You are experiencing "Denormalization". Here's an explanation (read all 3 pages)

Short solution; insert a dither plugin before the D-Verb.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:44 AM
Dopebeat Dopebeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Bizzare DSP/CPU feedback problem ?!?!

Right on, THANK YOU !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feedback problem obiwan177 VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 02-16-2010 03:52 PM
Feedback problem!! HELP! Greeno Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 12-04-2008 08:59 AM
HELP!!! Bizzare click track/counter problem oneson2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-16-2005 07:45 AM
Feedback Problem... malfunction 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-21-2005 09:46 AM
Feedback Problem... malfunction 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-21-2005 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com