Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-16-2011, 07:43 PM

Default Microphone and Headphones sound WEAK..* PLEASE SEE PIC *

Hi Everyone! Im new to the home studio set up and I am having a few issues.

I have a Mbox 2 interface, Pro tools 8 LE
and I have a Audio Technica AT-4040 Microphone.

It seems like I have to stand up very close to the mic to get a strong loud sound which is odd, because I know in most studios that i've been into I am usually a few steps back from the microphone and it sounds very clear and crispy. I was wondering if this could be my microphone problem?

Also when I am recording, the vocal sounds that are coming into my headphones are not loud either. I think this has to do with my mic not picking up the sounds like it is suppose to. my vocals just sound really dull...

Im starting to wonder if its the microphone, or the fact that I dont have a expensive preamp, or my settings are just wrong? I have a picture below of what my settings are at on the mbox at the moment...not sure if i have the settings on right or not..

If anyone could help me out I would appreciate it so much! Thanks you guys!!

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i2...10616-1934.jpg
Old 06-17-2011, 08:12 AM

Default Re: Microphone and Headphones sound WEAK..* PLEASE SEE PIC *

Hi yummyph0916, welcome to the wacky world of recording : )