Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-26-2016, 02:16 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Got myself to between two projects, so, I tried the latest video drivers available from BlackMagic as of posting this. Tried to find a newer needle in the haystack than my kind of trusty old 10.4.3. Sadly found out that I got unacceptable results with my system from all of the newer drivers. These are the details of my results using BM Intensity Pro:

10.6.0, 10.6.1, 10.6.2:
  • Needs 240ms of video offset to stay in sync for the first few seconds of playback.
  • The video drifts in sync; got to about 100ms earlier after 30 seconds of playback.
10.5.0, 10.5.1, 10.5.2, 10.5.3, 10.5.4:
  • Needs 240ms of video offset to stay in sync for the first few seconds of playback.
  • The video drifts in sync; got to about 100ms earlier after 30 seconds of playback.
10.4.3:
  • Needs 90ms of video offset.
  • The video stayed in sync for an hour of playback. (checked every 5-10 minutes)
Conclusion: I'll stay with the 10.4.3 driver.

Ps. I'm not filing any reports to Blackmagic or Avid as my system doesn't qualify for Pro Tools 12. That is, I don't expect to receive any help anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
10.6.2 Actually works really well
Installed it, and tested for 2 hours with no issues.
PTHD 12.4 on Yosemite
I'm curious: What machine and video hardware do you use?
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-26-2016, 02:40 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
Got myself to between two projects, so, I tried the latest video drivers available from BlackMagic as of posting this. Tried to find a newer needle in the haystack than my kind of trusty old 10.4.3. Sadly found out that I got unacceptable results with my system from all of the newer drivers. These are the details of my results using BM Intensity Pro:

10.6.0, 10.6.1, 10.6.2:
  • Needs 240ms of video offset to stay in sync for the first few seconds of playback.
  • The video drifts in sync; got to about 100ms earlier after 30 seconds of playback.
10.5.0, 10.5.1, 10.5.2, 10.5.3, 10.5.4:
  • Needs 240ms of video offset to stay in sync for the first few seconds of playback.
  • The video drifts in sync; got to about 100ms earlier after 30 seconds of playback.
10.4.3:
  • Needs 90ms of video offset.
  • The video stayed in sync for an hour of playback. (checked every 5-10 minutes)
Conclusion: I'll stay with the 10.4.3 driver.

Ps. I'm not filing any reports to Blackmagic or Avid as my system doesn't qualify for Pro Tools 12. That is, I don't expect to receive any help anyway.


I'm curious: What machine and video hardware do you use?
I can state that too the newest drivers have those symptoms the high need of video offset and that weird drift that it does. I go back to 10.4.1 again stable and stayed in sync for ours (i did the same test) never tried the 10.4.3.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-26-2016, 04:41 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

I use Driver version 9.5.2 with 12.4 HD & 10.3.10 with good results. Any new driver have been unreliable.
System: Mac OS X
Black magic deck link extreme HD
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-29-2016, 01:14 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 469
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Wonder how 10.6.2 is faring on Windows. I had to go back to 10.3.7 to get my system to work, so I'm afraid to even try the newest driver. Has anybody been bold enough yet?
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.4, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-29-2016, 03:14 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
Wonder how 10.6.2 is faring on Windows.
If it's anything like the OS X version it's broken and should be avoided. Try it out for yourself. If it doesn't cut it, just uninstall it and install an older one. Still, I notice you use fancier BM hardware than I do. Maybe the latest driver runs well with your system.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-29-2016, 03:45 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 469
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
If it's anything like the OS X version it's broken and should be avoided. Try it out for yourself. If it doesn't cut it, just uninstall it and install an older one. Still, I notice you use fancier BM hardware than I do. Maybe the latest driver runs well with your system.
Nope, I'm too chicken. I just don't feel like digging out my Syncheck again if anything gets fouled up. It's squirelly enough as it is.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.4, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-25-2016, 10:36 AM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

I just saw this post. I had posted this in the ProTools 12 forum but it directly pertains to this thread.

"I just thought I'd post this since I just went through a lengthy testing process. My specs are...

Mac Pro 3.5GHz, 32 RAM
OS 10.11.4 El Capitan
ProTools HD 12.4
Desktop Video Utility 10.4.3
Samsung UN55H6203AF television monitor

In a quick summation, no Blackmagic driver from 10.5 - 10.6.3 played back video in synch with audio. Also, all versions of 1080 video, no matter which codec (certainly didn't try them all but tried a few) show up on my monitor cropped when the tv is set to its default 16:9. The cropping was fixed when I switched the tv to "Screen Fit". Driver 10.4.3 is the only version that plays video in synch with ProTools 12.4 in El Capitan even though it isn't supported for El Capitan. I also tried this on a 2012 Macbook Pro and all the findings were exactly the same. I have been communicating with Blackmagic about this and they suggested that I play video out their Media Express player and I did that with the latest driver, 10.6.4, and again, it was cropped on my tv when it was set to the default 16:9, but got fixed when I set it to "Screen Fit". I couldn't tell if the audio was out of synch because I could not get sound out of the Media Express player.

So there could be a couple of things. Those drivers could work in other software or other versions of ProTools or other versions of the Mac OS but they don't work in the latest OS with 12.4. The cropping issue could be more related to the television than to the MiniMonitor but it always worked before with the television set to 16:9 and it doesn't now. Since the monitor isn't a professional monitor changing the television setting is fine and picture is still the same and in synch.

Blackmagic tech did get back to me multiple times but really had no answer besides testing things through the Media Express player. I basically stopped communicating with them because they wouldn't admit that things didn't work and honestly seemed like they were totally unaware of the issues and hadn't tested anything themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-26-2016, 07:10 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Thanks for the post.

I have an old black magic extreme HD and it has been working fine only with 9.5.2. I use it now in protools 12.5 and the only thing that occurs is that if I try to monitor any 1080@23.98 or 24fps video in any codec, it outputs a cropped 2048/1080 video on the tv. I don't know if this is caused by an sdi to hdmi adapter that I use to view on the tv or my tv itself.But the only way to fix it is to change the output of the video track in protools to 1080i 29.97 or 59.94 using the command key (Mac) and pressing the output tab.

That's my story.
I will test it with an Aja kona sometime soon
I will publish my findings
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-26-2016, 09:40 AM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

If you have to switch video frame rates in order to make things work then things are really wrong. I would immediately start using something else if that's the work around. Black magic really needs to get their s**t together.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-26-2016, 02:58 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Perhaps!
But is still gets out in sync!
It's a workaround. That's why I try to work always on 720p
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video out to Blackmagic intensity pro redsixmix Pro Tools 11 3 01-16-2014 11:02 AM
BlackMagic Decklink Issues - extended Desktop? The Chinese Post - Surround - Video 4 07-29-2011 04:02 AM
new Blackmagic video products reichman Post - Surround - Video 1 04-20-2009 03:18 PM
Pro Tools with BlackMagic video cards tom_lowe Post - Surround - Video 1 08-12-2007 11:02 AM
Does anybody use Blackmagic Video Card ? Ale Post - Surround - Video 1 05-12-2005 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com