Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-10-2013, 09:24 AM
dieffe dieffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 84
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Yes please! And please add support for italian!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-12-2013, 06:15 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 574
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Quote:
Years ago, the bright guys at Soundminer wrote some code called "SoundDigger" that was a SFX thesaurus. You would take a sound, and it would search for other sounds with similar spectral footprints. It's no longer in Soundminer.
Yes I remember that feature in SM. The other one I still miss was the built in 32 band Graphic EQ.

Soundtorch looks like it has a pretty cool similar algorithm, but PC only.

Sorry a bit off topic there.

Phrasefind for PT please Avid! My cash is waiting.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2014, 06:53 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Over a year since we were clamoring for PhraseFind or Boris Soundbite, and I still don't see a Pro Tools-compatible method of doing this.

Does anyone have a recommendation of how I might do this during a session outside of Pro Tools? Should I run MC or Premiere in the background just to be able to do PhraseFind?

BTW, the Ideascale is here. Vote up:

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ls!/30225-3779
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:28 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

well given that Avid doesn't own the code but has a lease for it we should go to the source and ask for an Pro Tools version
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-28-2014, 12:11 AM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 439
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

I would gladly give my hard earned money for this feature in Pro Tools.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-28-2014, 09:13 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 574
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Boris works pretty well, I use it all the time now to find alt takes.

When you find the word or line you want you can get it to show that file in the finder.

I then open that file in Twisted Wave (great piece of software, it opens multi track BWavs) and you can either refer back to boris to see the time the phrase occurs, but usually its just as easy to skip through and find it.

Then I choose the microphone leg I want and export as a mono file to bring into PT.
I used to import the whole file in PT and edit it there but the session gets very large if you do that.

It sounds a bit convoluted, but its way quicker than trawling through hours of rushes.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.12.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.5, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-28-2014, 10:06 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,196
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
well given that Avid doesn't own the code but has a lease for it we should go to the source and ask for an Pro Tools version
No longer the case.

Avid no longer can license the technology, thus has been dropped as of MC8.
So dont expect it in PT.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-29-2014, 08:40 AM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 980
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

Big Bummer.

p
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-16-2017, 10:41 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 736
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

A late....errr, uh.. really late follow up to this post. just received an email from AVID speaking the virtues of ScriptSync and PhraseFind for Media Composer once again.. Apparently it went off the radar for a while... Now, more than ever, I wish we could purchase for Pro Tools!!!!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-17-2017, 02:52 AM
Stephen Webster Stephen Webster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 90
Default Re: Phrasefind in Protools

+1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing from protools 8 audio only to protools 8 with video support djkaz macOS 5 09-04-2013 04:00 PM
I have ProTools 8, But Avid is only giving me ProTools 7.x Authorization Codes jpsaylor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-14-2012 08:34 PM
ProTools Shortcut keys suddenly became disabled in ProTools LE 8.0.5? jgbsound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2011 01:08 AM
PhraseFind not in store paranerd Post - Surround - Video 0 02-18-2011 09:15 AM
setting record levels into ProTools with the intent of mixing in ProTools Felix Tips & Tricks 507 02-05-2002 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com