Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:59 PM
Drummersound Drummersound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Caracas
Posts: 10
Exclamation Help with System Usage Window!!

Hello everybody!

I'd like to know a few thinks about this window because the info in reference guide is not the best...

Can someone tell me what does it mean:

Time Slots Used
Plug-in Sharing
DSP sharing
StereoMixer24
WaveShell-DAE

So, how can I explain those thinks in a easy way to someone?

Thanks a lot!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2011, 06:04 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 966
Default Re: Help with System Usage Window!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drummersound View Post
Hello everybody!

I'd like to know a few thinks about this window because the info in reference guide is not the best...

Can someone tell me what does it mean:

Time Slots Used
Plug-in Sharing
DSP sharing
StereoMixer24
WaveShell-DAE

So, how can I explain those thinks in a easy way to someone?

Thanks a lot!!
Hi,

I will try:
Quote:
Time Slots Used
For every PlugIn you instanciate or adding outputs or make other kinds of routings within the TDM mixer you need a certain amount of TDM Time slots.
If I recall correct, the maximum amount is 512 using 44,1 kHz. It's getting less the higher the sampling frequency will get.

Quote:
Plug-in Sharing
PlugIns & Mixer can share one or more DSPs.

Quote:
DSP sharing
DSPs can be shared by TDM-PlugIns and the Mixer-PlugIn itself.

Quote:
StereoMixer24
There are different Mixer-types available within PT. Like a stereo mixer and a surround mixer, dithered or not, 16 bit or 24 or higher. They reside in PT's PlugIns folder. Depending on the settings of a session, they might change.
The surround mixer for example is also needed if you want to change the pan law to something higher (wider) than -2.5 dB.
The "more" mixer, the more dsp usage

Quote:
WaveShell-DAE
WaveShell (DAE) is a global plugin from Waves which is instanciated as soon as you use a Wave's PlugIn. The more Waves TDM - plugins you use, the bigger the waveshell-PlugIn will become and the more DSPs it will eat up.

... writing this while laying on sofa .... so it's just a quick recall what I have in mind. So please, someone else might feel free, to correct me
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:23 AM
Drummersound Drummersound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Caracas
Posts: 10
Default Re: Help with System Usage Window!!

Thanks Hanswurstlsepp!!

I have one more questions:

When I open a blank session without tracks,
Why do I see that there is 2 voices in use on "Voices allocated"?

What consume those voices?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:44 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,469
Default Re: Help with System Usage Window!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drummersound View Post
Thanks Hanswurstlsepp!!

I have one more questions:

When I open a blank session without tracks,
Why do I see that there is 2 voices in use on "Voices allocated"?

What consume those voices?

Thanks again!
Hi,

The stereo master output, although its not showing all sessions have one by default.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:48 AM
Drummersound Drummersound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Caracas
Posts: 10
Default Re: Help with System Usage Window!!

Thanks a lot crizdee!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Usage Window not as described dts350z Pro Tools 10 1 11-09-2011 05:07 PM
System Usage Window zlr77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-09-2011 09:54 AM
System Usage window. maccool Tips & Tricks 2 04-16-2005 01:37 PM
system bar in sys usage window hobo123455 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-01-2004 02:21 PM
system usage window?? carbomb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-03-2002 07:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com