Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:04 PM
kolor2013 kolor2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default Delay plguins bug/problem?

Hey everyone

I've got a specific problem, because i tried almost everything what have been told to do in this type of situation, but here is what is happening: most of delay plugins (not everyone) when i try to use them they are causing an offbeat for ex - of my vocal. It is like the original waveform is moved few seconds to the right side (ofcourse i do not see this but i just want to describe this issue as simply as it is possible ). For example in echoboy when it is on 1/2 , i've watched mixnotes on youtube and he has got there a nice tutorial for a delay throws, so i decided to try this. He has got no problem with echoboy when it is 1/2 or whatever, but when i try to do the same thing, the whole thing is messed up, vocal just goes off the beat. I tried delay compensation etc. It is not helping at all. EVEN the basic pro tools delays like short delay or long delay causing the same thing. Could you help me? Because i canno't go further with my music production because of this, you know delays are very useful things to do specific effects in your tracks.

Sorry for my english.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2014, 02:36 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Delay plguins bug/problem?

Welcome to these forums.

We need some more info about your setup. I see in your profile that you have Pro Tools HD 10? Which version of PT is this exactly? Mac or PC?

Also, what are your settings in the Playback engine?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2014, 02:56 AM
kolor2013 kolor2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Delay plguins bug/problem?

It is an PC version. Currently my settings are :

Buffer size - 256 samples
host processors - 3
cpu usage limit - 90%
delay compensation engine - i tried all of the values - but often i choose "long"
cache size - normal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2014, 04:21 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Delay plguins bug/problem?

Thanks.

Now, which version of Pro Tools are you using? 10.x.x?

Do you have the conductor (tempo map) enabled, or are you using a manual tempo? Do you have the MIDI button enabled in Echoboy?

I think it's strange that only some of your plugins doesn't behave as expected.

Quote:
most of delay plugins (not everyone) when i try to use them they are causing an offbeat for ex - of my vocal.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2014, 03:21 PM
kolor2013 kolor2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Delay plguins bug/problem?

It is 10 3 2

i'm using manual tempo, yes midi button is enabled
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2014, 01:42 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Delay plguins bug/problem?

Where is Echoboy inserted, and how are you sending the vocal signal to it?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay problem... Mofoman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-08-2010 08:08 PM
M-Audio Delay Problem DJLilSteve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-28-2007 05:04 PM
Delay Problem gstockton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-25-2005 10:58 PM
plguins for pt free pellegrini Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-22-2003 12:58 AM
delay problem willidrum Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-26-2002 05:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com