Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2019, 01:41 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Patch bay problems

Ok guys I got hold of a warm audio 1176 and want to patch it in so I can use it on anything from vocals to bass. Iíve tried to do it but with no success yet, hoping someone here can help.

The equipment Iím using
Behringer patchbay PX 2000
Warm audio 1176
Tech 21 RBI

I record bass on analog input 5 in all my ProTools sessions

Iíve connected the RBI and Compressor together to make sure it all works and it does. Now when Iím Iíve hooked it up to the patchbay it doesnít work??

Instead of me trying to explain my signal flow Iíve drawn a picture. Patchbay slot 1 is set to normal and patchbay slot 2 is set to open



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2019, 02:15 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 715
Default Re: Patch bay problems

Well your diagram shows the input and output of the 1176 on one patch which wont work unless you are non normalled. I would run the comp out on the same patch as PT in and comp in by itself or you can have it normalled to one input device and just patch to others from the front.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2019, 02:28 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Patch bay problems

The 1176 is set to open, here is how Iím patching it on the front




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis

Last edited by Raoul23; 08-05-2019 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2019, 06:28 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Patch bay problems

It appears that you want to use that 1176 in a Pro Tools insert. Is that correct?

I would advise recording the bass without the SansAmp or 1176 with the player listening to a studio monitor. That way the player controls the dynamics and tone with their fingers and "touch."
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2019, 01:07 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Patch bay problems

Hi Bob

I want to be able to patch the 1176 in to anything later on down the line when I purchase some more preamps. Iím just using the sansamp really to head my head around setting up the patch bay


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMS Rescan and Patch Name Problems artk2002 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-07-2012 07:29 PM
Patch Names and Playback Problems! faba MIDI 0 05-02-2010 03:04 AM
Patch select problems sevenson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-03-2009 07:04 AM
midi patch files problems help please??? doopman Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-17-2007 11:03 PM
Patch Name Support problems MDog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 02-17-2005 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com