Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-03-2015, 08:24 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: S3 and Automation Snapshots

Quote:
Have you contacted Avid?

https://www.avid.com/US/about-avid/contact
Josh, you should put that in your signature. It would serve as an answer to a lot of threads in this forum. Why bothering at all?

The answer is: No, I haven't created a support case for this question yet.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD12.8.2, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 3.7)
HD Native PCIe - Aurora16-LT-HD
Intensity Pro (Desktop Video 10.4.3.)
Reaper 5.50, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD11.3.1, OS 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-06-2015, 03:46 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: S3 and Automation Snapshots

If anyone is interested I did file a support case and this is the answer:

Regarding the Snapshots, the product team believe the marketing department issued this with a typo, and should have actually been referring to recalling layouts, info as below:

Storing and Recalling Custom Layouts
Layouts let you assign specific tracks to specific channel strips on the S3, and have those channel strips ignore banking and nudging (ensuring that the specific tracks remain available for as long as the Layout is active). You can store Layouts using the Assign and Layouts tabs of the EuControl Settings application. Once stored, you can then recall Layouts using the Bank switches A–F. Bank switches A–F correspond to Layouts 1–6 respectively. Shift + A–F correspond to Layouts 7–12 respectively. Layouts are saved with your Pro Tools session.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD12.8.2, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 3.7)
HD Native PCIe - Aurora16-LT-HD
Intensity Pro (Desktop Video 10.4.3.)
Reaper 5.50, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD11.3.1, OS 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-06-2015, 03:50 AM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: S3 and Automation Snapshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by made View Post
If anyone is interested I did file a support case and this is the answer:

Regarding the Snapshots, the product team believe the marketing department issued this with a typo, and should have actually been referring to recalling layouts, info as below:

Storing and Recalling Custom Layouts
Layouts let you assign specific tracks to specific channel strips on the S3, and have those channel strips ignore banking and nudging (ensuring that the specific tracks remain available for as long as the Layout is active). You can store Layouts using the Assign and Layouts tabs of the EuControl Settings application. Once stored, you can then recall Layouts using the Bank switches A–F. Bank switches A–F correspond to Layouts 1–6 respectively. Shift + A–F correspond to Layouts 7–12 respectively. Layouts are saved with your Pro Tools session.
That's good news and thanks for sharing. Next time you'll know to start there.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-06-2015, 04:29 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: S3 and Automation Snapshots

so you think that this is good news? while they can't get the S3 to work properly they are also advertising a feature that doesn't exist? A typo on a product page for a new product? What's next? like, oh sorry the whole EuCon thing was a mistake and the S3 actually only works as a live board?

You obviously don't own/use a S3.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD12.8.2, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 3.7)
HD Native PCIe - Aurora16-LT-HD
Intensity Pro (Desktop Video 10.4.3.)
Reaper 5.50, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD11.3.1, OS 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:31 AM
craig douglas craig douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1
Default Re: S3 and Automation Snapshots

I know this is an old thread, but you absolutely can save snapshots. But you will need to use an iPad and run the protools control app
Within softkeys you will find the snapshots. 1-48. You need to make sure your in “allow latch prime in stop” in preferences. This will allow you to recall and write automation with protools in Stop. So set the automation snapshot the way you want. ( I usually work in preview). The. Hit capture. ( button 5 in the second layer of the right buttons on the s3). The. Hit save snapshot. Then Select which snapshot u want. ( on the softkeys of the app). U can program buttons on the s3 for this in the eucon app. ( I use the 4 touch strips as snapshots). To write it. Select the snapshot then hit punch capture. 7 on second layer right side buttons on s3). .. write to end/selection etc. if u have any other trouble. Let me know. I’ll post a video
You don’t have to use the app and just program the left buttons on the s3. But with the app you can save 48 snapshots and name them
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Snapshots RecRoom Post - Surround - Video 10 11-28-2016 10:48 AM
Automation snapshots? what are they? how to? postprosound Post - Surround - Video 4 04-10-2007 08:43 AM
Automation Playlists & Session Snapshots Mount Royal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-04-2006 06:04 AM
plugin automation snapshots possible? Mark Dann 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-12-2002 06:02 AM
Automation questions - Trim and Snapshots Psonic Psunspot Tips & Tricks 2 12-27-1999 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com