Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2018, 12:26 AM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Default Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

The soft keys for automation (right hand side) do not function properly in Pro Tools. They do in Logic, so this can not be hardware related I think.
If I change automation mode with [shift - Rec] the lights on the soft keys do reflect the automation mode the track is in, but pushing them changes nothing.

any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2018, 06:00 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

To change automation modes with the Right Softkeys on S3, you need to press and hold the automation mode you want to set and then select the track you want to apply that mode to. If you select Do to Selected or Do to All first it will do that too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2018, 12:24 AM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Default Re: Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

Thanks for your reply! That indeed did the trick. In logic the buttons work directly to the selected channel, I guess I expected the same behaviour in PT.
I also noticed that when faders are in a group and that group is selected the automation mode changes for that whole group.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:51 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 191
Default Re: Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
To change automation modes with the Right Softkeys on S3, you need to press and hold the automation mode you want to set and then select the track you want to apply that mode to. If you select Do to Selected or Do to All first it will do that too.
It would be nice if the S3 worked like the Dock. Pressing the automation mode button will change the automation mode of the selected track(s).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:31 PM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Default Re: Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony_Anz View Post
It would be nice if the S3 worked like the Dock. Pressing the automation mode button will change the automation mode of the selected track(s).
That's how it works in Logic. pressing button 3 puts selected tracks in touch mode, as an example. To me that's more intuitive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2018, 06:44 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 191
Default Re: Soft keys right hand side not functional in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerPaolo View Post
That's how it works in Logic. pressing button 3 puts selected tracks in touch mode, as an example. To me that's more intuitive.
Cool!..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soft Keys creativecontrol Pro Tools | S6 8 12-18-2017 03:34 PM
Why no Soft Keys on S3? jacko Pro Tools | S3 15 02-09-2016 08:43 PM
S6 modifier keys not functional after 2.0.1 update sauna-l Pro Tools | S6 2 10-09-2015 01:15 AM
S6 fader module meters on left hand side? jacko Pro Tools | S6 2 02-19-2015 05:04 AM
Side-chain keys, rdobra VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 03-31-2010 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com