Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2010, 09:00 AM
greenskyroly greenskyroly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Question Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

Hi guys,

Quick general question here. I don't actually have Pro Tools or record. I'm a musician and recently my band tracked drums on a Pro Tools HD rig. Anyway, we got a little carried away and weren't happy with the tempo we recorded our drum tracks in.

I want an engineer to change the tempo of the drum tracks by -3% to -5% at the most with Elastic Audio, nothing severe, just minor slow down because it affects the mood of the song a lot.

I've done this myself using Audacity just to get a general idea of what the tempo was going to sound like and I ran into some minor artifacts and drums skipping. Is Elastic Audio better equipped to slow tempo down and is the engineer gonna run into a bunch of artifacts/problems slowing this down?

Basically my question is if it's realistically possible for an engineer to slow down drum tracks by 3-5% at the most? And if there is artifacts, isn't there ways to edit and correct these minor errors? The engineer also has recorded drum samples of every piece off the kit (snare, toms, etc). I really don't want the money we spent on tracking to go to waste and be able to salvage the drum tracks.

Any help, opinions, and input are appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2010, 10:26 AM
greenskyroly greenskyroly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

Also, just as a note, since my original post, I've been able to slow down the WAV files of the drum tracks down to the speed I wanted with Amazing Slow Downer with no weird skips or artifacts so I think Elastic Audio shouldn't have a problem with them since it's probably more advanced with dealing with these type of things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2010, 10:45 AM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

A 3-5% slow down using Elastic Audio will not produce any artifacts on PT HD
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:57 PM
greenskyroly greenskyroly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

awesome
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2010, 02:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,615
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

Just make sure your audio tracks are TICK based.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2010, 05:47 PM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

As a long time user of Amazing Slow Downer I can tell you that it can slow dowm to amazingly slow speeds with such accuracy and with great clarity.

I think it does a better job than pro Tools. It does for me.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2010, 06:59 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

This is actually very easy to do. I do this all the time. I start by trimming or stretching all the regions to the nearest whole bar. The way I stretch is simply highlight from the nearest blank whole before the region to the nearest whole bar after the region. Then go to audiosuite, gain, and process the region without making any adjustments to the actual gain. This is simply to add blank space to a region. I do this for all tracks. Then I change the session tempo and stretch the audio regions back to the nearest bar. The direction depends on if I'm slowing down or speeding up the tempo. This way keeps everything in line!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2010, 03:55 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 791
Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

If you use Waves soundshifter, Serato Pitch n time, Sound Toys Speed or even Digi Xform as the TC/E in Pro Tools instead of the default one then the improvements of time stretching are amazing....
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you Change the tempo to part of a song using Elastic Audio? jtknight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-17-2009 09:49 AM
Conform to tempo/elastic audio? donbenjy Tips & Tricks 4 03-23-2009 02:53 AM
Slowing Down Tempo w/ Audio Tracks Danos1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-17-2009 04:53 PM
Problem with Elastic Audio when changing the tempo of song fenderjose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-25-2008 07:02 PM
locking a free time song to a tempo using elastic audio ganglion Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-24-2008 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com