Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:11 PM
ikon1234 ikon1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
Default M-Powered vs LE

Are there any major differences besides hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:04 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

The following options are not available for Pro Tools M-Powered:

Support for Control|24™ control surface
Support for DV Toolkit™ option
Support for DigiTranslator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:15 PM
ikon1234 ikon1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

What about the processing power/speed? Is one faster/better than the other?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:10 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Quote:
What about the processing power/speed? Is one faster/better than the other?
If you require the supported options described above, then LE is for you. If not, the software is identical.

One other thing, POWr Dither use to be included with M-Powered. Now it is no longer but it is in the LE Digi bundle.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:02 AM
popscreen popscreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

No, I don't think the software is identical, in terms of processing. I'm having all kinds of processing problems w/PT7 (m-powered), in comparison to PT 6.9 on Digi002. And this is with a brand new 2.3 dual-core! The CPU meter might only register at 1/3 full, but it'll still crap out! The "spikes" on the CPU meter are the problem. The "solid" CPU meter might be low, but it'll "spike" over into the red. With Digi002 I never had those issues with "CPU overhead."

Does anyone else out there notice this? Is it the software, or is it the M-Audio box? Either way, I'm getting tired of this.
__________________
Todd Schnitzer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:01 PM
ikon1234 ikon1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Quote:
No, I don't think the software is identical, in terms of processing. I'm having all kinds of processing problems w/PT7 (m-powered), in comparison to PT 6.9 on Digi002. And this is with a brand new 2.3 dual-core! The CPU meter might only register at 1/3 full, but it'll still crap out! The "spikes" on the CPU meter are the problem. The "solid" CPU meter might be low, but it'll "spike" over into the red. With Digi002 I never had those issues with "CPU overhead."

Does anyone else out there notice this? Is it the software, or is it the M-Audio box? Either way, I'm getting tired of this.
This is the kind of input I was looking for
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:16 PM
cwhite771 cwhite771 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Quote:
No, I don't think the software is identical, in terms of processing. I'm having all kinds of processing problems w/PT7 (m-powered), in comparison to PT 6.9 on Digi002. And this is with a brand new 2.3 dual-core! The CPU meter might only register at 1/3 full, but it'll still crap out! The "spikes" on the CPU meter are the problem. The "solid" CPU meter might be low, but it'll "spike" over into the red. With Digi002 I never had those issues with "CPU overhead."
I'm guessing that that has less to do with a difference between m-powered and LE than it being 2 completely different versions of the software (ie. 6.9.x vs. 7). There was a lot of stuff changed or re-written code-wise for 7. There seem to be some people in the LE forum experienceing spiking issues as well. It appears to be a bug in 7. 6.9.x was a later iteration of that version where all the bugs were, for the most part, worked out and worked solidly. I would think that performance-wise there would be little difference between the m-version and LE (of the SAME version) beyond what they're talking to.

I have an m-powered system currently on the way, so I'll have a pretty good idea for sure soon.
---
Chris
__________________
2013 MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/16GB RAM/OS10.9.2 - PT10.3.8/PT11.1.2 - RME UFX - Apogee Rosetta 200 - and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:24 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

yeah, those are PT7 specific issues - they are happening accross the board no matter if your on LE or MP or HD. Make sure you follow all the steps for Setup & Troubleshooting (thread near the top of the forum)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:06 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 194
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

I changed from PT 6.9 on Mbox (and 6.4 on 001) to Mpowered, and bought a dual core 2.3 just after the switch.
Everything is fine here, touch wood, the odd spike, but they are happening less frequently since fxpansion released their optimized plug for bfd.
Very happy to hve switched though, the maudio 1814 is the business, and the g5 is awesome.
Roll on PT7.1, I bet it gives us even more from our systems...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 01:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com