Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-07-2004, 11:41 AM

Default Newbie to Pro Tools LE - Latency questions

OK, I'm new to this hard disk recording thing, and this forum, so bare with me.

My System: Apple G3 iMac 350 Mhz, 1 GB RAM, running Mac OS 9.1. I am recording to an external 80 GB hard drive via the USB bus. Slow, but it works.

Pro Tools Version: 5.0.1 FREE. Is this the same as LE? The documentation does not match some of the file menus on screen.

USB Interface / Audio input: Tascam US-122

Mainly, I am curious what latency settings would work best for recording time-sensitive tracks. My first attempt at recording a guitar track while a 2-track stereo drum track plays back was hideous. My delay / latency on guitar was so bad, I could not play in time.

After reading up on the subject, I set the following:

Setups/Hardware Recording latency @ 45% CPU
DAE Playback Buffer Size = 1

I am assuming I will get better latency performance by bypassing any inserts I've added while recording dry tracks also. Any comments welcome. Thanks.
Old 07-07-2004, 11:55 AM

Default Re: Newbie to Pro Tools LE - Latency questions

Quote:
My System: Apple G3 iMac 350 Mhz, 1 GB RAM, running Mac OS 9.1. I am recording to an external 80 GB hard drive via the USB bus. Slow, but it works.
Let's see...first of all PT Free is not the same as PT LE. LE comes with digidesign hardware (like an Mbox or Digi 002). PT Free is just...free. I was never able to record using PT Free because of the latency issues. I'd be suprised if you were able to resolve this problem with your current system, but I could be way off base.