Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 08:36 AM
thirdrailrecording thirdrailrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

Hello,
I have an event coming up with multiple bands and house provided Profiles for FOH and Monitors. I need to switch between bands using Snapshots as opposed to loading new Show files, because there is a DJ and emcee between acts and I cannot have interruption in the audio. If the bands' Show files were provided beforehand, is there a way to "merge" 2 Show files that each include individual Snapshots together?
For example:
Show File - "The Show"
Snapshot 1 - Band A Song 1
Snapshot 2 - Band A Song 2
Snapshot 3 - Band A Song 3
Snapshot 4 - DJ
Snapshot 5 - Band B Song 1
Snapshot 6 - Band B Song 2
Snapshot 7 - Band B Song 3

Thanks,
Jimmy Turner
Third Rail Productions Inc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:29 AM
Scott Fahy Scott Fahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 400
Default Re: Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

Unless all the bands files had the same configuration originally (channel count, grouping, aux outs, plug in rack) there is no way. How about grabbing another Profile, Mix Rack, SC48 and use that to run the Emcee and DJ through while the main board is being reset with the new file. (Scovi did a webinar on Festival with that idea put out there as an option)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2010, 10:16 AM
thirdrailrecording thirdrailrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

Hey Scott,
Thanks for the reply. Yeah, we used this same setup last year and used an LS-9 as the desk to run everything else through. I was just hoping there was someway to avoid the "extra" desk.
Thanks,
Jimmy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2010, 11:16 AM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

Use the channel libraries to get you in the ball park. Make sure that you can load all the necessary plug ins at one time. Also make sure that you recall safe all your outputs as well as your MC and your DJ lines so that they won't change. Another thing that bit me this past Saturday was I had an input patched to two channels and I was only using one for the MC. The MC was on recall safe but the other channel that it was patched to was not. So when I recalled the scene it reset the preamp level on my MC. Just something I was bit on and to keep in mind.

There isn't anyway to do a patch library like you do channel library is there?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2010, 02:34 AM
dutchblond_guy dutchblond_guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

hello Jimmy,

another thing u mite concider is to use at the foh is 2 units of he Midas 42 preamps where the 1one controles the console and the second unit all the other stuff then going into the same system controler that is if u have one.

like a dolby lake or soundweb for example.

this way u can mute both when ever needed. cheepest solution and works on most of the budget festivals.

kind regards,

dutch
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:04 AM
thirdrailrecording thirdrailrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots?

Thanks for the ideas guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help with Snapshots! Daniel Ellis VENUE Live Sound Systems 9 02-26-2015 02:11 PM
Snapshots jacko Avid S6 17 01-25-2014 08:53 AM
Snapshots? James Drake Pro Tools 10 11 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
Snapshots - Aux Mon vs. Aux FX spendergrass VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-23-2010 03:07 PM
snapshots Brian_Gray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-26-2003 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com