Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:12 PM
kilgore kilgore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Trouble installing pro tools 8

I just switched to a Mac from PC's cuz I was tired of all glitches pro tools had with Windows. So I'm running a G5 dual 2.0 ghz ppc with 8 gigs ram with Loepard 10.5.8 When I try and install Pro tools 8 the "installer unexpectedly quits" message pops up and closes the installer program. The installer will install other files from the pt8 disc such as the 3rd party software etc. I've repaired permissions, but am too new to Mac's to know much more. Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:16 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 307
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

installing from DVD or Downloaded updater?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:19 PM
kilgore kilgore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

From the DVD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:21 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 307
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

how far into the install you get? are you installing into main HD?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:28 PM
kilgore kilgore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

I don't get into the install at all. After I open the PT8 disc icon and double click the "install Pro Tools LE.mpkg" a window saying " this package contains a program that determines if the software can be installed" opens and I hit continue and after 10 seconds of nothing the installer closes and an error messages appears saying "the application Installer quit unexpectedly" I can either relaunch and it does the same thing, ignore, or send a report.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:23 PM
hear-this hear-this is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

Has this problem been resolved? I'm getting the same error...

Thanks...
HT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2011, 11:51 PM
NathanielJames NathanielJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Default Re: Trouble installing pro tools 8

I just posted a thread in which I describe a similar problem I'm having...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble installing Pro tools 8 le on mac NathanielJames 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2011 09:42 PM
pro tools le 7.3 installing trouble roc187 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-15-2010 01:08 PM
Trouble installing Pro Tools 8 LE on Vista Mac9641 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-16-2009 06:07 PM
Trouble installing pro tools Jamesgug General Discussion 1 12-10-2008 03:30 PM
Trouble Installing Pro-Tools on Mac G4. AvEnuE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-16-2005 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com