Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2019, 06:42 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,073
Default Lock Edit window as topped

Lots of key commands on the computer keyboard and the Eucon control surfaces depend on the Edit Window being topped. Would be great to be able to lock that window as topped, and lock the focus keys, too.

This really bugs me with the arrow-down key programmed on a surface. You hit the key, and then realize it did nothing because the Mix window is topped.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2019, 11:36 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 296
Default Re: Lock Edit window as topped

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Lots of key commands on the computer keyboard and the Eucon control surfaces depend on the Edit Window being topped. Would be great to be able to lock that window as topped, and lock the focus keys, too.

This really bugs me with the arrow-down key programmed on a surface. You hit the key, and then realize it did nothing because the Mix window is topped.
Just curious what you're using the mix window for? Besides looking at individual track delay comp values (the only place you can get that information) I never look at it.

(not saying your doing anything wrong or judging you... genuinely curious!)
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2019, 11:55 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,073
Default Re: Lock Edit window as topped

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norad155 View Post
Just curious what you're using the mix window for? Besides looking at individual track delay comp values (the only place you can get that information) I never look at it.

(not saying your doing anything wrong or judging you... genuinely curious!)
You're totally right. Out of habit, I have two computer screens, one for Edit, and the other for Mix with a bunch of floating plug-ins on top. I do look occasionally for automatch arrows (S3 doesn't have those), and Preview status (can't see that in Edit when the tracks are tiny). But yes, until this gets some attention from Avid, I should just close the window. I can see Preview status on my Dock just fine.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2019, 04:29 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 296
Default Re: Lock Edit window as topped

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
You're totally right. Out of habit, I have two computer screens, one for Edit, and the other for Mix with a bunch of floating plug-ins on top. I do look occasionally for automatch arrows (S3 doesn't have those), and Preview status (can't see that in Edit when the tracks are tiny). But yes, until this gets some attention from Avid, I should just close the window. I can see Preview status on my Dock just fine.
well those certainly are 2 legit reasons to use the mix window I hadn't thought of... but yeah... if it's not much and this is annoying you more often... maybe ditch it!

I haven't looked at it in about a decade haha
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link track selection from edit window to mix window? jaminjamesp Pro Tools 12 7 01-16-2017 05:37 PM
Midi edit window stuck to edit window lvsranch Pro Tools 11 7 04-04-2015 12:42 PM
Can i lock the mix and edit windows ? Northwest Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-06-2009 10:00 PM
ShuttlePro+Dual Monitors+topped window PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-14-2006 06:08 AM
Mix Window Freezes but Edit Window works fine. wwicklund 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-08-2006 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com