Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2012, 09:52 AM
kooz kooz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 263
Default How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

My studio was recently burglarized and one of my HD3Accel systems was stolen.
I've reported the serial #s to Avid's registration and a notes has been put in my file.
Will Avid notify me if someone should try to register the cards under their name? or if the cards are used in a hardware upgrade?
Ideally, I'd like to have the cards recovered by the local authorities for them to pursue as part of their investigation. I have no need to personally be in contact with the person who may try to use the stolen equipment - that's why I pay taxes.
Thanks everyone....hopefully DigiTechSupt will chime in...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:39 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

If the way the support currently sold products is a gauge
I doubt they have a dedicated section to oversee or cross reference serial numbers
Or operate like pawn shops with reporting hardware Or any exchange info to authorities what so ever
, now with that said that's is why insurance is critical when you need to minimize losses
As long as you file a local report you will be covered if it shows up somewhere
Other than that I hope you find the a-hole(s)
It's worth a shot to call avid..maybe you'll luck out
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:24 AM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kooz View Post
My studio was recently burglarized and one of my HD3Accel systems was stolen.
I've reported the serial #s to Avid's registration and a notes has been put in my file.
Will Avid notify me if someone should try to register the cards under their name? or if the cards are used in a hardware upgrade?
Ideally, I'd like to have the cards recovered by the local authorities for them to pursue as part of their investigation. I have no need to personally be in contact with the person who may try to use the stolen equipment - that's why I pay taxes.
Thanks everyone....hopefully DigiTechSupt will chime in...
u sound kinda shady why r u asking question on here when u already talked to avid and the police?? u should have asked ur questions when u were talking to avid... my gut feeling is u r trying to pull some sort of scam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2012, 07:46 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montr้al, Qu้bec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

Not possible, Nerd. He's from Toronto. They don't scam. They don't jay-walk. They even stop at stop signs. If he were from Montreal....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2012, 10:40 AM
kooz kooz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 263
Default Re: How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

@Cliffy_Boy LOL. I jaywalk all the time.
@nerd513 - no, I was just looking for user experience. I'm sure I'm not the first one to rn into this, was just wondering if anyon has had success in recovery with Avid possibly notifying you that someone is trying to register your cards.

Avid has noted which serial #s were taken. they have been quite helpful
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2012, 08:39 PM
2224 2224 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,BC
Posts: 420
Default Re: How does Avid handle Stolen systems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
u sound kinda shady why r u asking question on here when u already talked to avid and the police?? u should have asked ur questions when u were talking to avid... my gut feeling is u r trying to pull some sort of scam
We are in Canada, we do things different from the USA Nerd.
__________________
JAMAICAN I IS
2008 2009 and 2010 Mac Pro 8 core with
64 GIG memory with 9 terabyte of hard drive space
blue ray player
HDX 1, 2 16X16 interfaces
sync I/O.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Mix STOLEN from my Studio in Stockholm arvid.lind Post - Surround - Video 3 07-17-2013 02:17 AM
Avid Artist Mix STOLEN from my Studio in Stockholm arvid.lind Artist Series 2 07-14-2013 02:48 PM
Stolen iLok + replacement licenses Avid Support ?? jetamasirep macOS 41 02-21-2013 10:03 PM
Has Avid Changed How They Handle Regions? The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-11-2011 07:08 AM
How do Avid handle..... bredo Eleven Rack 1 03-24-2011 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com