Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2011, 02:07 AM
PerErik PerErik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4
Default Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

I lost my iLok while moving to a new apartment. I have reported the iLok missing (on iLoks homepage) and transfered temporary licenses to my new iLok. On this there is a license for PT-MP 7 and one for PT 8-MP. When I had the temporary licenses installed on my new iLok I bought an upgrade to PT 9-MP. This license is now ready to be downloaded to my new iLok. When I try to download it I get a message telling me that I need to surrender my license for PT8-MP - which of course I am happy to do, but an error message tells me that the license isn´t present on my iLok (although I can see it)

Is there a problem upgrading from a temporary iLok license?

I have been trying to retrieve my license through the support on Avids support page. I bought a service transfer fee thinking that this would replace my PT8-MP license (the only license I have bought from the Avid store). Do I also have to buy a phone call to get this completed? (Am I the only on who finds the support from Avid extremely confusing?)

Thank you for any answer you can provide. I have searched this forum without finding exactly what I need to knw.
__________________
iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
PT M-powered 8.01
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:23 PM
TLBsounds TLBsounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

No you are not the only one who finds Avid support confusing. I am trying to get a replacement license for PT9 onto a new iLok and I have know idea how to use their website to do this...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:26 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

It's a real PIA but Avid ditched email support several months ago in favour of purchasing support codes for 29GBP in the UK.

I had an 003 that went wrong and my dealer told me to ring Avid UK, i got stopped in my tracks at the 'please type in your support code' part. Fortunatly, as the 003 was faulty this then gave me leverage to get the unit refunded and i now have a Motu 828mk3, i can email MOTU in the US whenever and get a speedy response or i can ring the distributor here in the UK who is very helpful.

It's one thing to charge for technical support but when you have a genuine warranty issue and the response is, if we deem the unit faulty we will refund the support code, that kind of doesn't wash.

Enough said.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2011, 03:37 AM
PerErik PerErik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

Thank you for making me feel a little bit less like an idiot;-)

The new support is really hard to navigate and make sense of:)
__________________
iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
PT M-powered 8.01
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2011, 06:32 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

Losing an iLok would not really be considered a 'warranty' issue, since there's nothing that failed with the hardware - it was simply lost.

And, yes, there would be a problem upgrading from a temp license. You would need a full license to do that and, to get one, you would need to contact Customer Service by phone or email - which would require an ASC in your case.

I'm sorry to hear you lost it and that it will be money out of your pocket to get the situation corrected.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2011, 02:14 PM
PerErik PerErik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

Thank you for your relatively swift answer. I think you answered in a very informative manner. I have sent an e-mail to support and got a quick response. Now I hope this will resolve the matter and I can go back to using Pro Tools again.
__________________
iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
PT M-powered 8.01
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2011, 01:10 PM
PerErik PerErik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4
Default Re: Issues with iLok and retrieving new license

Arter buying support from Avid and paying a Service Transfer fee PT finally rund like a clock on my computer. Glad it worked out
__________________
iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
PT M-powered 8.01
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok License Surrender Issues Bruce Paine Pro Tools 11 223 06-05-2017 09:09 PM
iLok License Surrender Issues Bruce Paine Technical Alerts 1 06-22-2013 08:29 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
Retrieving iLok Plug In Authorizations Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-27-2006 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com