Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2011, 04:22 AM
nean nean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 103
Thumbs down OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

hi guys,

"someone" told me that the latest ProTools 9 with the latest developer preview of 10.7 still doesn't work ! It is crashing while starting, with segmentation fault,...
also it's confirmed that Reaper and Logic works perfectly on the new OS, just a few plugs (au/vst) causing troubles (the usual suspects -> rewire, native instruments, waves,... )

how long ProTools 9 customer must wait this time to get a proper version which is running on the new OS?

Last edited by nean; 06-24-2011 at 12:13 PM. Reason: NDA compliant
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2011, 04:42 AM
Gemylon's Avatar
Gemylon Gemylon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 791
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
j ...
how long ProTools 9 customer must wait this time to get a proper version which is running on the new OS?
I guess AVID is working on the compatibility issues as we speak.
But from experience, its probably gonna take quite while
till its fully up and working.


G
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2011, 05:56 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 460
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
as tested with the latest developer preview of 10.7, ProTools 9 still doesn't work ! It is crashing while starting, with segmentation fault ;-)
Just a couple of ideas:

1. Have you tried disabling all the plugins to see whether you still get this error?
PT Plugin Manager makes this quick to do:
http://www.maisonsonique.com/index.p...-software_side

2. Unplugging the audio interface and just using your Mac's internal sound card.
__________________
High Sierra 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2011, 08:03 AM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Can you specify whether you have Intel integrated graphics and a third party GPU?

One critic blasted Apple with the lack of user control over when the GPUs swap. At the moment, according to this critic, the OS does this on-the-fly as needed.

Just a thought... I mean this could cause DPC interrupts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2011, 11:14 AM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

works fine here
I'm running lion with PT8 with no problems yet
waves 7 etc....

haven't had a crash yet, don't undstand why 8 would work fine and 9 wouldn't ?
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2011, 11:45 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by the dude View Post
works fine here
I'm running lion with PT8 with no problems yet
waves 7 etc....

haven't had a crash yet, don't undstand why 8 would work fine and 9 wouldn't ?
Of course... The real question is why would anyone expect Pro Tools to work at all, yet?
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2011, 08:55 AM
iyaron iyaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 71
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by the dude View Post
works fine here
I'm running lion with PT8 with no problems yet
waves 7 etc....

haven't had a crash yet, don't undstand why 8 would work fine and 9 wouldn't ?
be sure to check if yo uchange to pt 9 then you need a new recertification of waves as well as a new installation shel hat is V8
If it anin't broke...do not seek new challenges.
I
__________________
Everyday Is A Good Day
http://www.bandmix.com/itzhak/ My Music
www.itzhakyaron.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2011, 11:57 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
just fyi,
as tested with the latest developer preview of 10.7, ProTools 9 still doesn't work ! It is crashing while starting, with segmentation fault ;-)

Reaper and Logic works perfectly on the new OS, just a few plugs (au/vst) causing troubles (the usual suspects -> rewire, native instruments, waves,... )

how long ProTools 9 customer must wait this time to get a proper version which is running on the new OS?
Lion isn't out yet.
Logic has its flaws on Lion. I too have the Dev. Preview.

I cant remember when PT was off. compatible with a new OS X release. Always takes a little while.

But to start nagging about PT not being compatible with an OS that hasn't even been release - to me - is just plane dumb !!!
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2011, 05:15 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
I cant remember when PT was off. compatible with a new OS X release. Always takes a little while.
Yup. Don't expect it to be officially qualified on the release. Let's just hope it doesn't take as long as it did with Leopard.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2011, 06:18 AM
Sergius's Avatar
Sergius Sergius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 204
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
Lion isn't out yet.
Logic has its flaws on Lion. I too have the Dev. Preview.

I cant remember when PT was off. compatible with a new OS X release. Always takes a little while.

But to start nagging about PT not being compatible with an OS that hasn't even been release - to me - is just plane dumb !!!
+1000!!!

I mean, if beta testing software is you job, your passion, your life! I could understand the whining, and still, this would not be the place to do it. Again, Lion is not even out yet... Take it up with Avid's division that handles this... I'm sure they will love your feedback. Some people just have too much time on their hands...

Me? I was just taking a quick break from making some music and enjoying what we do have now

Happy Father's Day!
__________________
PT 2018.7.0 w/Focusrite 2i2
iMac i7 2.93GHz / 8GB RAM / Mac OS X 10.3.6

http://store.cdbaby.com/Artist/SergioEscalona

www.reverbnation.com/sergioescalona

https://soundcloud.com/sergius9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 10:55 AM
Macbook Pro+lion+PT9 :-( / iMac+Lion+PT9 = :-) Pehja macOS 12 11-08-2011 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com