Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2000, 10:32 AM
BreezNess BreezNess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Miami
Posts: 27
Default Going between Platforms

I'm in the process of getting the Digi001 system for my PC in my pre-production studio and at present I'd like to know what's the best format to save it to so the Mac at the big studio where I'll be doing my mixes can read my files. Anyone here has that kinda setup please let me know the easiest route.
Thanx in advance.
Breez.

------------------
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
__________________
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2000, 03:40 PM
mfym mfym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 992
Default Re: Going between Platforms

PTLE for PC is not currently cross-platform.
Digidesign decided against it in the
initial release because going cross-
platform would have delayed its release.

Check this thread: http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/Forum33/HTML/000086.html
It may provide some answers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2000, 07:12 PM
BreezNess BreezNess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Miami
Posts: 27
Default Re: Going between Platforms

Thanx mfym ...Guess I have to wait until I have the dough to get a mac . Seems a bit of a job there to get a song on a mac from a pc.
Thanx again

------------------
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
__________________
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2000, 06:18 AM
mark delbridge mark delbridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: london, england
Posts: 3
Default Re: Going between Platforms

O.K., O.K., but what does that mean. Does 'not currently available' mean there will or won't be cross platform support for Win98 LE?
I for one want to know for sure I will be able to load Win98 projects on Mac OS Protools rigs, before I part with my hard earned cash. And I don't think it should be a cost option either, Protools is supposed to be a cross-platform 'solution' and even though digidesign have never been noted for their charity, the customers shouldn't be punnished because the software engineers couldn't get it out in time...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2000, 03:56 PM
mfym mfym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 992
Default Re: Going between Platforms

It's my understanding from an early post
from Digidesign that PTLE for Windows will
eventually be cross-platform, just not for
the initial release.
Only Digidesign knows whether it will be the
next PTLE or not, and just like PTLE for
Windows, no one will probably know until
close to one week before the next PTLE
release.
It is my understanding they have every
intention of going cross-platform as their
marketing has always stated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2000, 08:28 PM
Terry Terry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: Going between Platforms

Breez,
I've been using a quick workaround between mac and pc, until they get the cross platform going.
To go from mac to pc, all I'm doing is consolidating every audio track (making solid audio files) that start at the exact start frame, then converting them to aiff (sound app, it's a free download) cutting a cd (or whatever) of just the audio files folder, then importing them into an empty pc session at home.
From pc to mac I consolidate, cut a cd of just the waves then import the waves into a mac tdm session at work.
The midi I just save as a standard midi file (either way) and import it. I find emailing them works the best as it turns it into mac or pc.
The only downside is you can't take any plug-ins or automation between formats, but if your just mixing on the mac tdm you'd probably start from scratch anyway.

L8R,
Ter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2000, 11:23 AM
BreezNess BreezNess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Miami
Posts: 27
Default Re: Going between Platforms

Hey Terry thanks for your info it's well appreciated.

------------------
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
__________________
I really remember how to SMILE....: )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing platforms from pc to mac paul sandberg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-22-2011 10:48 AM
switching platforms stormmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-21-2005 10:06 PM
Switching Platforms NCM engineering Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-18-2001 12:40 AM
crossing platforms newdawg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-03-2000 06:34 AM
Switching platforms PaulHarding General Discussion 4 07-07-1999 01:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com