Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:19 PM
Dusan Dusan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 28
Default How to reinstall Video Engine?

I run the latest version of Pro Tools on Windows 10, Dell Precision workstation with two Xeons and 64 GB RAM, with enough disk space to feed the rabbits.
Of late I started having problems.
If I try to enable the Video I get a very helpful message:

"The Video engine is not properly installed. Please reinstal the Video Engine and try again."

I looked high and low and couldn't find how to install Video Engine on its own.

Anybody in the know?

Thanks,

Dusan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2019, 03:49 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: How to reinstall Video Engine?

Reinstall all of Pro Tools. You can probably just reinstall on top of your current. There is no separate video engine installer.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2019, 07:54 AM
Dusan Dusan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 28
Default Re: How to reinstall Video Engine?

Thank you for your message.

Been there, done that, several times over.

Got a closet full of these useless tee-shirts, but no working video engine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2019, 11:56 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: How to reinstall Video Engine?

Then despite the message, there’s probably another reason for your problems. Have you tried to run the installer as an administrator (right click “run as administrator”)?

Since this is Win 10, possibly some detritus in your registry. If you are comfortable with regedit, first uninstall ProTools, reboot, then go into the registry and wipe any and all references to the Avid Video Engine. Then reboot and reinstall.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 8 05-16-2019 07:47 PM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 01:22 AM
Mbox driver reinstall-reinstall-reinstall j.thomas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-22-2015 11:34 AM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 12:35 AM
PT 10HD with MXF Video wants Video Engine? rantanplan Pro Tools 10 2 06-05-2014 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com