Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2016, 04:05 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,240
Default MIDI drum editor

Surely, surely there has to be an easier way of editing a MIDI drum part than siphoning through this lot...it's giving me a headache just looking at it.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1472036678


Isn't it about time we had some sort of MIDI drum editor?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 12.02.09.jpg (66.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2016, 04:17 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Assignable colours for each drum would at least be a start. I did this all manually of course.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1472037419
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 12.15.47.jpg (72.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2016, 10:32 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,529
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Surely, surely there has to be an easier way of editing a MIDI drum part than siphoning through this lot...it's giving me a headache just looking at it.
The best "workaround" I've used in PT is by using individual tracks with Single Note View and Clip Grouping in the main Edit window:





Track Folders would make the above "workaround" a little more ergonomic, but...

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2016, 11:28 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

That actually looks quite tidy - thanks Shane, I'll try giving that a whirl.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2016, 09:49 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Usually what I do, is to capture the performance on a single MIDI track, and then from the Events menu, use the option to split by note, and place on individual tracks.

Then you just have the tracks display as single note, as previously described, and you've pretty much automatically got your drum grid.

So with a drum VI, I just draw in a single note for every individual key that the VI hosts a drum sound on (at Bar 1 / Beat 1, on a single MIDI track), and then do the split by notes function - and that's the beginnings of the template for that particular VI for import in to future sessions.

Obviously, the original MIDI track then gets deleted / muted.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2016, 01:00 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,675
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Usually what I do, is to capture the performance on a single MIDI track, and then from the Events menu, use the option to split by note, and place on individual tracks.

Then you just have the tracks display as single note, as previously described, and you've pretty much automatically got your drum grid.

So with a drum VI, I just draw in a single note for every individual key that the VI hosts a drum sound on (at Bar 1 / Beat 1, on a single MIDI track), and then do the split by notes function - and that's the beginnings of the template for that particular VI for import in to future sessions.

Obviously, the original MIDI track then gets deleted / muted.
hey Carl, does this work on Instrument Tracks as well ?? or just Midi .. not in front of it right now .. thx john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2016, 01:09 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,529
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
hey Carl, does this work on Instrument Tracks as well ?? or just Midi .. not in front of it right now .. thx john
It applies to both.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2016, 02:48 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 827
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Being able to map notes to names (Kick, snare, etc.) helps even more. At least one other product offers that capability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Assignable colours for each drum would at least be a start. I did this all manually of course.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1472037419
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2016, 03:39 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
Being able to map notes to names (Kick, snare, etc.) helps even more. At least one other product offers that capability.
Yeah - triggering Superior Drummer with a pad or similar can result in eg the hihat part being spread all over the keyboard, which is pretty cumbersome to edit. It would be nice to have the ability to have the "hat" track on one line, with maybe a number or note or something embedded in that track to denote which sample was being triggered....? Strike uses lines per drum (much like an edit page in Cubase on a 1990s Atari) but there doesn't seem to be any neat way of creating slightly more sample-complex patterns within each line. Maybe I'm missing something ...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2016, 08:07 AM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 220
Default Re: MIDI drum editor

Additionally, if you'd like to zoom in on a particular selection, you can use the shortcut Ctrl+Start+ ] (Windows) or Command+Control+] (Mac).

Just remember to turn off the green MIDI speaker icon before lassoing a row of drum notes!
It can then be turned back on when entering new notes.

Is there a shortcut that toggles the green speaker icon?

Last edited by take77; 08-27-2016 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Editor and MIDI Event Editor keyboard commands broken 12.4 HD Marsdy Pro Tools 12 5 01-31-2016 05:01 AM
Articulation with drum tracks in midi editor willl3 Pro Tools 10 1 02-23-2014 11:23 AM
Using Pro Tools Midi Editor for BFD2 drum mapping Qrackaduck Virtual Instruments 4 10-15-2009 08:53 AM
Any simple Midi Drum editor for PT7 available? mrsusan Tips & Tricks 1 11-25-2006 08:03 AM
drum editor xda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-31-2005 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com