Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2013, 07:51 AM
billardis billardis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 2
Default mixing multiple tracks to a single stereo track

I'm doing a radio/DJ show on the web, need to mix three tracks down to a single track. New to Pro Tools. The busses and sends and auxes are Greek to me. The knowledge base is still Greek after reading the mixing section. Ouch! Can anyone break this down for for me?

Bill Ardis
blardis@gmail.com
spiritcalling.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2013, 09:34 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: mixing multiple tracks to a single stereo track

So you need a primer on mix theory.
I'm going to recommend the Yamaha Sound Reinforcement Handbook.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2013, 04:36 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,065
Default Re: mixing multiple tracks to a single stereo track

In simple terms, put up a Stereo Master Track whose input and output is Analog 1-2.

Make sure the output of your 3 tracks is Analog 1-2.

Get the levels/mix of the 3 tracks to your liking and so that the Master doesn't clip. Look up Grouping Tracks in the Manual if you need to lower all 3 tracks at once.

Select the area on the timeline you want to mix down and Bounce out the mix to a location of your choice. (Ctrl+Alt+B to bring up the Bounce Dialogue.)

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single track to multiple tracks or aux realizment Pro Tools 10 2 11-16-2012 11:28 PM
Conver stereo track to SINGLE mono track markolone Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-30-2010 07:09 PM
sliding tracks (single and multiple)... how the heck? stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-08-2009 03:19 AM
Stereo Tracks from single source...? Daniel_Isaiah Tips & Tricks 1 06-19-2002 03:01 PM
Multiple CD tracks from single file ThB Music Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 09-15-1999 10:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com