Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2013, 11:46 PM
gcross86 gcross86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3
Default Getting signal and dry guitar sound but no playback.

Hello everyone. I'm having some trouble getting up and running. I got the newest mbox mini today with protools express and installed all the drivers, followed all the instructions on the quick start poster, and set the output to mbox mini under system preferences. (I'm using a macbook pro- mac osx lion 10.7.5) Also hooked my monitors up to the mbox. I plugged my guitar in, set up a new track. I'm able to set the levels and can hear the dry guitar sound, but I can't hear anything on playback after I record. Also, when I insert a plugin, I can't hear anything. Just dry guitar. Any advice would be greatly appreciated and I am sorry if this has already been discussed elsewhere but I can't seem to find any info on it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:52 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Getting signal and dry guitar sound but no playback.

I'll take a stab but I don't have Express so I'm not familiar with its intricacies. Often times using the key combination ALT+K or OPT+K on a Mac to change input modes will fix this.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:22 AM
gcross86 gcross86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3
Default Re: Getting signal and dry guitar sound but no playback.

Well I guess I didn't realize that you had to have the mix knob turned up in order to hear even if you have monitors plugged in. I thought that was only if listening through headphones, but now when I arm the track to record I get a horrible distorted feedback sound. Something that sounds similar to the beginning of Pantera's Sandblasted Skin if you've ever heard that. And thats with no plugins or anything going. Just plugging in a guitar and setting the track up to record. I thought maybe a bad cable but I tried that and a different guitar. I don't have a clue guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting signal from controller but no sound or playback in Pro tools LE 7 ach Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 1 02-22-2013 01:55 AM
No Guitar Signal Nicky6Wire Windows 0 05-27-2011 09:42 AM
Changing a mic level signal into a guitar level signal with correct impedance mgnyhc1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-22-2009 11:15 AM
How to split guitar signal???? FSM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-14-2008 10:49 AM
Best way to split a guitar signal? wavetrapper Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-16-2002 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com