Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2003, 01:19 PM
LukeDog LukeDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 7
Default MIDI setup on Mbox - my sequencer - latency?

Hey everyone,
I finally purchased a 1 GHZ tiBook and an Mbox a couple weeks ago and I'm loving the s**t out of it. I also have an old Yamaha QY70 sequencer which I've been using to lay down drums and clicks. I've just been running the audio out into one of the mbox inputs and setting the PT tempo and the sequencer tempo the same. then i trim and loop and move the samples in grid mode.

My question is involves setting up the sequener as a midi input rather than an audio in. I have a midiman usb midisport uno converter which takes midi in and midi out and runs them into the USB port on the iBook. If I run this into the tibook and then run OMS setup I assume it will work.

However, for monitoring without latency do I need to still run the audio out from the sequencer into the Mbox?

Also - the TiBook only has 2 USB ports, one which I use for my mouse and the other for the Mbox. Can I use a Hub so the MIDI and the mouse go in the same port or will this screw things up?

One other thing. I would like to be able to hook some sort of external keyboard to control the sounds from my QY70 so I don't feel like I'm trying to play chords on gameboy buttons. Where would I put this in the chain and what are the nice but reasonably priced controller keyboards?

Sorry so many questions. I just want to get everything running smoothly. I have read info in the answerbase but some of it was unclear in regards to my specific setup. Thanks alot guys. This board is the bomb.

LukeDog
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2003, 03:20 PM
LukeDog LukeDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 7
Default Re: MIDI setup on Mbox - my sequencer - latency?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2003, 10:31 AM
LukeDog LukeDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 7
Default Re: MIDI setup on Mbox - my sequencer - latency?

one more try....bump.....should i put this on a different section of the boards?

thanks,

Lukedog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2003, 12:00 AM
linpaws linpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: almere, 6 mtr below sealevel
Posts: 167
Default Re: MIDI setup on Mbox - my sequencer - latency?

high there lukedog,
I will try and help.

-latencyon't know wether you'll have latency when setting up like you say, but the recorded midi in protools has to trigger something. so if you're using the audio from your yamaha, the signal will be going through the machine anyway, so for monitoring use what works best.

-USB some apparatus (look in the manual) need a so called powered usb bus, which are the two on your ibook.
Now there are powered and unpowered hubs, with a price difference of course, the mouse also works on a unpowered hub, you can figure out what you need now.

-Keyboards-reasonable prices depend on budget, but some brands are m-audio (formerly midi-man) and evolution,
both have midicontroller-keyboards, ranging from 26 to 81 keys, try take a look on the web, google or something
hope you got some answers
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple MBox Pro Instances/Icons in Audio MIDI Setup -> MIDI Studio lpeckham macOS 8 04-24-2014 06:39 AM
unable to setup MIDI instruments through Mbox 2 Pro MIDI port tomazbevilaqua 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-30-2010 06:04 AM
LOW LATENCY, HIGH CPU USAGE Mbox setup.. a MYTH? ataraxia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 08:49 AM
New G4s: anyone have a working sequencer / interface setup? sero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-28-2002 01:02 AM
Transfering note data from a sequencer to the sequencer of the digi 001 sequencer? MichaelK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-05-2000 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com