Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2003, 06:49 AM
djc8902 djc8902 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 55
Default soundcraft spirit m series...anyone using?

I want to get the spirit M12 board for my digi 001 setup...but im wondering if anyone out there can give me a testimonial from experience. I know the mic pres and EQ are great but im also concerned about headroom on the mix bus, im one of those guys who finds it VERY NECESSARY to mix out to an analog board to sum my tracks....and I want to make sure the spirit M will handle the task. Any input would be great, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2003, 08:16 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: soundcraft spirit m series...anyone using?

I have mixed feelings about the Spirit mixer. I really got very excited about the pre-release excitement about this mixer. I'm a long time fan of Soundcraft and Spirit analog mixers, they sound wonderful and offer an incredible value at the same time. The M-series has a very nice EQ with full-throw 100mm faders. The problem I have are the mic-pres, they are said to be the same as the Soundcraft Ghost but after careful review... I don't know how that is possible. The amount of gain I get out of them should be said as the amount of gain I DON'T get... that has been the disappointment to me. However, it's still a good alternative to the sterile sound of a Mackie... but sometimes the Mackie is still the better solution.

Now don't take this the wrong way, but I wouldn't worry about the mix-bus of ProToolsLE if you're on a Digi001. If you had an Apogee AD8000 w/8-ch D/A strapped on then I would say yeah... mix externally. But you'll get better results inside the ProTools LE environment by investing in a Control Surface and some good quality plugins such as WAVES, McDSP, Bombfactory, etc. The problem with mixing externally is using the Dig001 D/A converters. You also only have (8) outputs unless you have an ADAT Optical to D/A converter to give you (16) outputs. If you want to mix externally on a console in the ProTools world, get a MIX or HD system with multiple 888/96io/192io/xx or whatever and a true studio board. Personally, I would recommend to go the plugin route with a control surface.

If you still feel you want to mix 8-channels out to an analog mixer and you'll be using this mixer SOLELY for mixdown.... then the Spirit M12 would be just fine. Of course you're going toneed externally effects and dynamics processing and will not have automation, but that will depend on what you're mixing as well.

Hope this helps....
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2003, 09:37 AM
djc8902 djc8902 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 55
Default Re: soundcraft spirit m series...anyone using?

Thanks very much Brad. I have to disagree with you on your theory of mixing analog with digi 001 however. I dont use the board to set and "mix" levels when i send the tracks out, I just use it to sum the tracks while still usingthe pro tools automation and plugs.This is a topic of great debate and I can see why, but in my experience at the project studio I work at occasionally and in my own project studio...sending my mixes through the board and back into pro tools not only gives me hotter levels going back in (more signal=better sound quality), but I find that the mixes totally open up and especially in my drums I hear a more punchy result. Its all about the mix bus math...and in most cases if you do it right and send your mix out to a board, you'll see that the headroom will increase dramatically on the mixer and you wont peak out going back in. I know theres plenty of people who come from the opposite angle and talk conversion this and that and its degrading your mix to send it out and back in again, but for me I wouldnt even consider summing in pro tools ever again since I started mixing out analog. Thanks for your heads up on the spirit though, I greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2003, 12:59 AM
soundboy69 soundboy69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: From: Trinidad (Humboldt Co.); living: somewhere between Chicago and St.Louis...
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: soundcraft spirit m series...anyone using?

...don't forget about tracking...I used to track w/ the M 12...better sounding pres (much) than the 001.
But then we got a Ghost. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
But we still have it for a sub...
__________________
soundphaRm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
soundcraft spirit studio rossi68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-04-2008 02:29 AM
Soundcraft Spirit Folio Rac Pac--Anyone know anything about it? Esteban WB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 05-08-2003 12:54 AM
Soundcraft Spirit M8 Mixer brianres General Discussion 1 03-11-2003 09:27 PM
Spirit M Series vs Spirit Folio SX mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-21-2002 02:08 PM
Soundcraft Spirit 328 Plugs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-07-2001 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com