Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2009, 06:43 AM
timtimtim timtimtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Default Fatal error message with Elastic Audio

I really do like this elastic thing. And work a lot with it. If it works.
Sometimes the party is over soon or won't even start.
There appears this sophisticated popup error message instead:

Could not complete the Quantize command because Assertion in /Volumes/Development/vb_protools_8.0_cpr_2/AlturaPorts/NewFileLibs/
FileFormat/MacBuild/../FF/Audio/Elastic/FF_PacketStream.cpp", line3085


Oh, er, yes, good to know.
Up to now, I didn't find out how to react and get Elastic Time going again as any operation is blocked. 'Close/open', 'Save as', won't help. Sometimes it helps to create a new audio-file from the stream I worked on. Funny this bug appears in approximately 3 from 10 identical songs, I can't figure out any rule.
Any suggestions?
__________________
IntelMac 2x266, HD3, PT8, Logic 8,
PC/XP, Samplitude
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2009, 11:41 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Fatal error message with Elastic Audio

Typically random assertion errors are caused by corrupt databases. You can find info on how to trash them, so they can be rebuilt, in the General Troubleshooting thread.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:44 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Fatal error message with Elastic Audio

Actually, now that I got some feedback from engineering on this, it's unlikely to be caused by corrupted databases.

Would it be possible to get the session file and audio file that this is occurring with?

If so, please upload it using a free file hosting service and send the download link to: vi [at] digidesign [dot] com. Include the thread number (246401) in the subject of the message.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:54 AM
timtimtim timtimtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Default Re: Fatal error message with Elastic Audio

Dear Support:
More news:
This error message is generated only in polyphonic mode.

And it happens, when you modify the length of the stream in elastic mode.
I guess, changing length irritates the program to find right addresses.
For me it's kind of slowing down the flow, as I have to flip constantly from elastic mode to normal and back. (And wait for rendering to and fro.)

Anyway there is some other bug in elastic:
in any elastic mode there will be a breakdown when you change playbacks start point.
Chose new location - play - ball of boredom - out! Yesterday it happened about 18 times in 4 hours. Every time after a breakdown I send this report to Apple. Do they transfer these protocols to you?

I try to send you the mentioned files you asked for.
Thanks
__________________
IntelMac 2x266, HD3, PT8, Logic 8,
PC/XP, Samplitude
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:02 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Fatal error message with Elastic Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by timtimtim View Post
Every time after a breakdown I send this report to Apple. Do they transfer these protocols to you?
No, they don't.

Quote:
I try to send you the mentioned files you asked for.
Thanks
That's what we'll need to get to the bottom of this problem.

Thanks!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fatal Error Message Dave Morris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-12-2016 08:36 AM
Elastic Audio Error Sid0 Windows 4 02-12-2014 05:11 PM
strange message when trying to commit to an elastic audio track gibsy General Discussion 2 12-19-2013 03:07 AM
Elastic audio error message and more tomdiek macOS 1 07-25-2012 04:32 PM
Fatal error message Agent37 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-16-2007 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com