Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6831  
Old 06-22-2020, 02:01 PM
pasacmorg pasacmorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bainbridge Island
Posts: 5
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Here’s a couple of options: https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/perform...ing-pro-tools/
Reply With Quote
  #6832  
Old 06-26-2020, 06:30 AM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 322
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Well.... finally I ordered a new computer


ASUS Geforce GT 1030 2GB Silent
PCI-Express 3.0, GDDR5, Low-Profile, Pascal,
Intel Core i9-10900X prosessor
Socket-2066 10-Core, 20-Thread, 3.7/4.5GHz, 165W, 48 PCIe-lanes,
Corsair Hydro Series H60 CPU Kjøler
HyperX Fury RGB DDR4 3200MHz 32GB
Kingston A2000 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Seagate BarraCuda 1TB 3.5" HDD
SATA 6.0Gb/s, 7200RPM, 64MB cache, 3.5",
ASUS Prime X299-A II, Socket-2066
Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Windows 10 Pro OA

I think this will be a little bit more powerfull than my old i7980x rig....
If anyone spot something really stupid please let me know :)
__________________
Antelope Orion Studio 2017, UA 4-710, Presonus digimax FS, Sony DMX r100
Reply With Quote
  #6833  
Old 06-27-2020, 05:16 PM
adavies's Avatar
adavies adavies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
My Gigabyte motherboard has been a stable workhorse. I'll go Gigabyte for my next build for sure.
I took your advise, though in the end it was the Asus' use of PCIE X1(s) instead of X4 that pushed me over. Other than a Black Magic Deklink mini, I'm not sure what I'd use a PCIE X1 for. Thanks for the good advice.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6834  
Old 07-04-2020, 09:41 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,769
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by adavies View Post
I took your advise, ...
Which model did you get? Does it work?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #6835  
Old 07-07-2020, 07:47 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 248
Default Finally finished designing my Pro Tools PC Build - Feedback?

CPU
Intel Core i7 10700k

Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 Vision D

CPU Cooler
Noctua NH-D15s

Extra Case Fans
Noctua NF A15 PWM
Noctua NF A15 PWM

RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB (2 x 32GB) DDR4 3200 CL16

GPU
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB GDDR5 with Backplate PCI-E Graphics Card

Storage
Internal Storage 1 (Windows 10/Boot Drive) — Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB m.2 NVMe SSD
Internal Storage 2 (Pro Tools Sessions) — Samsung 970 EVO 1TB m.2 NVMe SSD
Internal Storage 3 (Sample Libraries) — Western Digital Black SN750 2TB m.2 NVMe SSD

PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3 80+ Gold 750w Fully Modular 24Pin

Case
Fractal Design Define R6 Silent Modular Case

Just one minor decision to be made in the SSD section though, not sure if I want to use the 500gb Evo Plus for the Main Boot SSD with all the applications, or the Pro Tools session drive controlling all of my pro tools sessions/recording. Or if it would be worth returning the 1tb EVO for a 500gb Evo Plus to solely run pro tools and thats it. Although I feel like thats a waste of an m.2 slot (only have 3) considering pro tools can be on the same SSD as samples now.

Last edited by DBK; 07-07-2020 at 10:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6836  
Old 07-07-2020, 08:26 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,259
Default Re: Finally finished designing my Pro Tools PC Build - Feedback?

WOW. (Drools)
I'm shure you'll get lots of feedback on this.
My immediate thought was; what about backup? With lots of drive space, I would try to make a setup to automate cloning of, well, as much as I could. At least system and sessions volumes.
Instinct tells me to put system on the fastes drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6837  
Old 07-07-2020, 10:08 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 248
Default Re: Finally finished designing my Pro Tools PC Build - Feedback?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
WOW. (Drools)
I'm shure you'll get lots of feedback on this.
My immediate thought was; what about backup? With lots of drive space, I would try to make a setup to automate cloning of, well, as much as I could. At least system and sessions volumes.
Instinct tells me to put system on the fastes drive.
Oh yah I'll have plenty of random external back up drives. Wasn't counting those as they don't really have anything to do with performance.
Reply With Quote
  #6838  
Old 07-08-2020, 08:22 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,372
Default Re: Finally finished designing my Pro Tools PC Build - Feedback?

Clone or image your OS and Session drives to a back up drive. I image mine nightly, keeping a rolling three days worth and also before any install/uninstall/update/upgrade. I use Macrium Reflect - the paid version because it has Image Guardian that protects the images against Ransomware. Once you set up backup templates, it's one click and forget it, the program does the rest, even shutting down the computer after making an image and verifying it (you can change that if you don't want the computer shut down after an image is made). Makes it easy to recover from issues or swap in a new, unformatted drive and restore your OS or Sessions to it.

I'd also get a higher wattage power supply. You can never have too much power
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6839  
Old 07-08-2020, 01:57 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,152
Default Re: Finally finished designing my Pro Tools PC Build - Feedback?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post

I'd also get a higher wattage power supply. You can never have too much power
^^^This^^^

I lost RAM a CPU and a drive from overworking a too small power supply.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6840  
Old 07-08-2020, 05:24 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 248
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

So torn now, lots of people were telling me 750w is overkill lol. PcPartsPicker estimates my wattage at 510w. If I overshoot by 20% that still leaves me an extra 150w with the EVGA?

Plus its a newer style 24 pin PSU, not a 20+4. That should help a bit compared to a 'lesser' or older style 20 pin PSU wont it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 07:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 07:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 12:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com