Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:29 PM
Mcgrathx Mcgrathx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

Anyone running PT7 with XP Service Pack 1? Digi says Service Pack 2 required for PT 6.8.1 and higher (SP1 not tested). I am using PT6.7 running SP1 and have been keeping my machine off the net to prevent virus infections and because Digi recommends running the 002R with anti-virus software turned off but I want to upgrade to PT7.
Any recommendations from users? Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:38 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

Mcgrathx


I can't speak for others, but after I reformated my hard drive, I reinstalled LE 7 and had forgot about SP2. Launched PT and a dialog window appeared saying require SP2. You can get SP2 on disc, as version 7, I believe.

Just some options.




filosofem

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:09 PM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

When I first built my "non-internet"/no anti-virus DAW, I just hooked it up to the internet once briefly to go to windows update. I did all the updates for my system in about thirty minutes, then disconnected it from the internet. No problems here. Just don't go anywhere funny.
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:14 PM
Mcgrathx Mcgrathx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

Thanks for the info about the disk option - otherwise it looks like I have to use my e-machines restore disk which wipes all my data files of my boot drive just to reload the Norton antivirus back on so that I can safely use the Internet to download SP2! Whew! Michael
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:16 PM
Mcgrathx Mcgrathx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

Maybe a 30 minute internet stint might work as well. Thanks to both of you! Michael
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:56 PM
aliengroover aliengroover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 289
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

You can also just download it on the computer that is connected to the Internet and burn a disk of it. That's what I did. It took me a second to find it on their site. Do a search on here, and I think someone put up a direct link to it.
Peace
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2006, 11:03 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

PT 7 Upgrade
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:43 AM
benunh benunh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 76
Default Re: PT7 with XP Service Pack 1

When I upgraded to PT7 I was concerned about the SP2 upgrade as well (I have SP2 on other machines in my home and hate the 'user friendly' features) so after seeing a few people on this forum have some luck I just went ahead with PT7 WITHOUT going SP2.
Guess what? No problems. Absolutely none.
I'm aware there may be support issues in the future, but by then I'm sure we'll all be on Windows Vista

Rock on

Ben
__________________
www.javboyrecords.com
'All Things Sound'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 8 on XP Service Pack 2? Service Pack 3 registry issues? Infiltrator Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 02-22-2011 11:18 AM
Service pack 3 and PT 8.0.4 keithaska 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-08-2010 04:51 PM
XP Service Pack 3 - Should I? Mozepy Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 17 07-07-2008 08:42 AM
Windows XP Service Pack 1 or Service Pack 2 Does it matter? Billy57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-27-2007 08:37 PM
XP 2 Service Pack stevegrisham 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-01-2004 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com