Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2019, 06:13 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 352
Default Sample Rate Conversion?

Hey, everyone. I record tracks for people sometimes and most of the time, I find out their session sample rate so that it's the same for them upon import. Sometimes I can't get that info, so I was wondering, if their session was at a different sample rate than what I recorded my tracks at, is that really a big deal when they import my tracks and have their daw convert the tracks to their sample rate wether it be upsampling or downsampling?
Should I ever really inquire about this, or does it not matter in this day and age? What do top producers/engineers/studios do in situations like this? Do they even really care as long as it's a quality track that starts at the same point as the rest of their tracks?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2019, 12:46 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,406
Default Re: Sample Rate Conversion?

Sample rate info is written to the WAV file header and a DAW can read it from there. If it doesn't match, it converts.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2019, 12:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,406
Default Re: Sample Rate Conversion?

So don't worry about it too much. Sample rate is mostly important when you connect devices together, not when you import/export stuff from one session to another
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2019, 09:36 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,695
Default Re: Sample Rate Conversion?

In general you're safe; of course the fewer SRC passes the better, but for a one off it won't matter a lot.

There is one specific case where it matters; if the main session is at high-sample-rate (96k, 88.2k, 192k, 176.4k) and the client expects to release to HD-Tracks or some similar high-SR destination then if you record at 44.1k or 48k they no longer have native high-SR tracks and in some cases will fail HD-Tracks ingest. Other than that I wouldn't worry too much.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample Rate Conversion MMVOX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-20-2008 06:43 AM
sample rate conversion bug David MacKenzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-15-2007 11:14 AM
sample rate conversion D Clarkson Tips & Tricks 13 04-15-2003 10:38 AM
Sample Rate Conversion ThreeBlake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-08-2002 12:55 AM
SAMPLE RATE CONVERSION Pete Weaver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-08-2002 12:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com