Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2011, 08:10 PM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract.

Hello,

I have some I/O's that are in need of repair. I would rather the repair take place at Avid Audio HQ, how can I set up a repair and a R.A# without a service contract? It appears that you must pay big money just to reach a human, I just want to set up a repair order.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2011, 06:11 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Not sure if anything has changed, but I just called, gave my CC info and set up a ticket. It was easy.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:19 AM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Not sure if anything has changed, but I just called, gave my CC info and set up a ticket. It was easy.
Thanks for the info. Did you call in the last couple of weeks? They now made it so that you cannot get through to any human unless you have a support contract code. I have not found a way to even send a e-mail without a support code. Please correct me if I am wrong but I believe this is a brand new policy just enacted. I am pretty upset that they would do this even for simple repair requests, parts orders and customer service transfers of ownership.

I think they should not make the mistakes of N.I and make it impossible to reach support, it will sow deeper seeds of discontent. Avid is making some very good moves on the software fronts I would hate to see the customer service tactics drastically altered for the worse.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:17 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

When I did it (about 2 months ago) you called and entered your CC # and that was it, you got through. Must have changed.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:16 AM
JNS JNS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 514
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

What I think the OP is saying is that he apparently can't even arrange to send a piece of equipment in for repair without shelling out the $79.95 to do it. I'm in the same boat with parts. In all honesty I haven't tried to order them yet, but from what I can see it appears that to do anything now one has to spend $79.95 just to get started, which if true, is crap.

I've been using Digi stuff since 1990 and always felt like I meant something to the company and felt comfortable going to them when I needed help. I'm not talking about getting "free" support although sometimes they did cut me some slack on certain issues. But, since the big change a few months ago with their customer service policy I find myself trying to avoid dealing with them at all. I don't mind paying a fair amount for the time it takes to resolve a problem, but $80 for any little question at all is ridiculous and just plain greedy on Digi's part. I won't even go into the poor website problem. All I can say is I'm sure glad I did my latest upgrade before all of that started or I'd probably still be looking for software updates/info.

Jeff
__________________
HD3 Accel with 2-192s(expanded) and Rosetta 800, PT 8.0.3cs2/10.5.8 on 8-core 2.8 GHz. MacPro with UAD-2 Solo/Duo and Magma Expressbox4 chassis, Sync I/O, Midi I/O, Control 24;
PTLE 8.0cs3 on Dual-core 2.3GHz. G5(PCIe), 003R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2011, 05:27 PM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNS View Post
What I think the OP is saying is that he apparently can't even arrange to send a piece of equipment in for repair without shelling out the $79.95 to do it. I'm in the same boat with parts. In all honesty I haven't tried to order them yet, but from what I can see it appears that to do anything now one has to spend $79.95 just to get started, which if true, is crap.

I've been using Digi stuff since 1990 and always felt like I meant something to the company and felt comfortable going to them when I needed help. I'm not talking about getting "free" support although sometimes they did cut me some slack on certain issues. But, since the big change a few months ago with their customer service policy I find myself trying to avoid dealing with them at all. I don't mind paying a fair amount for the time it takes to resolve a problem, but $80 for any little question at all is ridiculous and just plain greedy on Digi's part. I won't even go into the poor website problem. All I can say is I'm sure glad I did my latest upgrade before all of that started or I'd probably still be looking for software updates/info.

Jeff
Exactly,
Hopefully this gets addressed sooner then later.
As we discussed in the thread regarding transfer of ownership, a customer needs a way to speak and arrange for a repair or parts purchase (without tech support) without having to have a support contract!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2011, 07:53 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

I can understand where AVID comes from on this as people like to talk gear.. and the "what ifs" and "How about" with every phone call they get. But this has got to be the worst policy i have ever dealt with when it comes to hardware.

I do studio tech and up keep for several Pro Tool HD studios on the West Coast. I am pretty much able to trouble shoot most things between the DUC and other users. When we have tried everything else I will finally call in if the client wants to pay for it.

However, when it comes to the HARDWARE issues whats up with this? With shrinking budgets and growing overhead money is tight all over. But this is like raping your servants. $80 just to talk. I dont get it.

AVID does all these survey and such and yet nothing changes. Loyalty only goes so far.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:06 PM
struk407 struk407 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: OrlandoFL
Posts: 2
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

It's my understanding that if you call 650-731-6100 and choose option 3 you should reach the repairs line at no charge.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2011, 11:21 PM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by struk407 View Post
It's my understanding that if you call 650-731-6100 and choose option 3 you should reach the repairs line at no charge.
Thanks for the tip, I see no mention of this number in any of the online web documents or PDF manuals. When avid reopens for buisiness I will certainly give it a try. I do find it disconcerting that if someone purchases a $65,000 rig (dcontrol or HD systems) that you only receive 2 phone support calls or 10 online requests all only available for 60 days! This is highway robbery! I can think of no other hardware manufacturer offering such a horrible technical support policy.

Not a wise move on Avid's part. Perhaps the layoffs of support staff will help the power point presentation come the shareholders meeting but the seeds of resentment being sown will do far more damage in the long run. Not smart.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2011, 11:21 PM
JNS JNS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 514
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff E View Post
I can understand where AVID comes from on this as people like to talk gear.. and the "what ifs" and "How about" with every phone call they get.
(snip)
AVID does all these survey and such and yet nothing changes. Loyalty only goes so far.
Well, even if someone did want to shoot the bull they were paying $3.00/min after the first 3 minutes. That's $180/hour. More than most studios are probably getting with all of their overhead. I understand that and I paid that fee when I had a question that took a while to answer. It wasn't like Digi wasn't getting paid for their time, but an $80 flat fee for anything is stupid.
__________________
HD3 Accel with 2-192s(expanded) and Rosetta 800, PT 8.0.3cs2/10.5.8 on 8-core 2.8 GHz. MacPro with UAD-2 Solo/Duo and Magma Expressbox4 chassis, Sync I/O, Midi I/O, Control 24;
PTLE 8.0cs3 on Dual-core 2.3GHz. G5(PCIe), 003R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 03:31 PM
How to access Avid Support Contract Moviesound Pro Tools 10 3 06-30-2012 10:09 AM
How do you reach Avid to get software (update) to be functional? lanstrad Pro Tools 9 5 09-01-2011 06:39 AM
002R Direct X drivers for Avid original_min 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-09-2007 04:36 PM
OT: The Amazing Human Mind Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-28-2004 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com