Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2016, 10:01 PM
a1rflow a1rflow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Default Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

Hi everyone -

Is there any way to allocate my video track to a different location (such as another hard drive) without deleting the video track and re-importing it?

Often times I work from home on my transport drive (G-drive mini with power supply), and thus I run my video off the same drive as well. When I go to the studio I still want to run the audio of the session from the same drive, but instead allocate the video to play from a separate drive, such as the internal SSDs.

Couldn't figure this out via the Disk Allocation window, is there another way?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2016, 11:34 PM
EarHole EarHole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 830
Default Re: Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

Close session, copy them to a different drive, trash the ones in the current location, re-open session. It'll take a minute to re-find them but then you're al set.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2016, 02:40 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

This might work :
On the G-Drive, prior to opening the session in the studio, move the video file to a different folder (on the G-Drive : maybe from "Video Files A" to a new folder named "Video Files B"),
open the session, PT will ask for a relink, relink manually to the Video Files folder of the internal SSD.
At home : relink again from Video File folder B. Back in studio, prior to opening the session there : move the video file from B to A. And so on.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2016, 07:31 AM
a1rflow a1rflow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Default Re: Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

Thanks joachim. I think this makes the most sense!

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
This might work :
On the G-Drive, prior to opening the session in the studio, move the video file to a different folder (on the G-Drive : maybe from "Video Files A" to a new folder named "Video Files B"),
open the session, PT will ask for a relink, relink manually to the Video Files folder of the internal SSD.
At home : relink again from Video File folder B. Back in studio, prior to opening the session there : move the video file from B to A. And so on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2020, 10:13 AM
sn_1968 sn_1968 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

Was hoping to do this too directly from importing an AAF/OMF. Send the video to a seperate drive for ease of data management.

Can't seem to do automatically and have to dig the video out by hand, so to speak.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2020, 01:11 AM
espron espron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 327
Default Re: Allocating Video tracks to a different disk

Hi, there is an easier way of doing this.
Under the PT "Windows" menu, select New Workspace->default. Then open the folder with the PT session icon and select the subfolder "Video Files"
Then, select your video file, right-click and select "Relink". then select the location where the video file you want to use is located (G-Drive at home, SSD at work) and press find links and then commit links.

Sounds a bit convoluted, but it actually just takes about 10-15 seconds to do.

Best,
Espen
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allocating a disk for Pro Tools ilee macOS 8 01-14-2014 09:06 AM
Video Satellite LE and multiple video tracks or regions Erik Olsson Post - Surround - Video 1 01-12-2010 10:37 AM
Video track disk allocation? djkrayz Post - Surround - Video 2 10-04-2007 08:29 PM
Curious about strategies for re-allocating tracks Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-20-2006 05:25 PM
Pre-allocating disk space for recording 1m1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-04-2004 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com