Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2009, 12:58 AM
The_Shoe The_Shoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 20
Default PT 8 Software Update Issue

So I just upgraded from 7.4 to 8 in my mixing room and while going through some of the features, I have found that the "Check for Updates" function does not work for me. I keep getting a message saying "Could not connect to digidesign.com, Check internet connection and try again." The trouble is that my connection is fine.

Can PT8 not check for updates through a wireless connection or is this just a bug. Anyone have any words of advice on this feature.

John Schirmer
Twelve-Tone-Music.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2009, 04:35 AM
Rob van Hees Rob van Hees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

I just can say that i have the same problem :

The software updater utility never worked for me

Kind regards,

Rob
__________________
Rob van Hees
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2009, 10:38 AM
The_Shoe The_Shoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

Good to know, anyone else have the same issue?
__________________
John Schirmer
Live & Studio Mixer, Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
http://twelve-tone-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:35 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,790
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

The software update structure is in place, but we have not enabled the feature on the server end yet, as it had to go through some real-world testing first(or virtual real-world, as the case may be).

We'll enable the feature at the first opportunity once we feel the mechanisms are ready to roll.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2009, 11:54 PM
HermanV HermanV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

i have the same problem except my macbook freezes for about 5 minutes before and after the software updater pops up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2009, 04:01 PM
GuySmiley GuySmiley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

yeah still unresolved as at 4th August 09
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2009, 04:56 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We'll enable the feature at the first opportunity once we feel the mechanisms are ready to roll.
Is it just me

or do you also just love the way that rolls of his tongue like that?

__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2009, 05:30 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
The software update structure is in place, but we have not enabled the feature on the server end yet, as it had to go through some real-world testing first(or virtual real-world, as the case may be).

We'll enable the feature at the first opportunity once we feel the mechanisms are ready to roll.
OK, do you guys just read the very last post before you post. It says here, very clearly, that the feature has not been enabled yet. If you don't take the time to read the whole thread then you are just gonna keep crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2009, 07:34 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: PT 8 Software Update Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
Is it just me

or do you also just love the way that rolls of his tongue like that?

Believe me.. it is "just you". ff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
PT 8.0 + Reason issue + PT 8.0.1 update issue caz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-18-2011 03:01 PM
Windows Update Vs Apples Software Update sunburst79 General Discussion 2 07-14-2007 07:40 AM
PT 5.1.3 cs Software Update groovedeluxe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-01-2004 12:12 AM
Implement software update option into ProTools software Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2003 01:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com