Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #181  
Old 11-12-2020, 02:13 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,533
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by melodydetective View Post
Now that it’s announced, and specs are there (coreaudio, <1ms latency, onboard DSP) I wonder this - if you are using it with another platform (Cubase etc.) and decide you no longer want the Pro Tools subscription/ yearly update, will the hardware continue to work? Will you still be able to get updated drivers for it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
YOu get a one year subscription license for Pro Tools included after that you can renew or it turns into a perpetual license. Meaning that the software and hardware will keep running with the current version of pro tools you have but you won't get any upgrade.

technically that means that if you don't want to pay subscription then pro tools will keep working on the last version you had. If there's plugins in there that were on the support plan and you do not have a license for it, from my understanding the plugins will no longer work.

The interface should still work on it's own, but as an interface only, you won't get any of the additional benefit of the interface.
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 11-12-2020, 02:15 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,533
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
So if I am using an HD i/o and HD Omni with HDX cards, I cannot get the automatic low-latency by disabling non-DSP plugins while in Record like you can now with the Carbon interface?

How can I even have the HD i/o and Carbon be combined on one system?
apparently from the webinar (we've not been told prior) this is something that will come software based for HDX users down the road in 2021.
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 11-12-2020, 02:39 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,850
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

So they are changing up the whole way that Protools systems connect then? Getting rid of the Digilink connectors? and thus preventing you from connecting any expansion systems? No more connection to HD I/O units?

How do they get over the 32 i/o limit with this box? Are they going to release some other AVB enabled i/o boxes in the future? And no Windows support for how long?

25 inputs just seems so...quaint in 2021.

I think I'll keep my Red 8 Pre for awhile longer yet.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 11-12-2020, 02:42 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 994
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
So they are changing up the whole way that Protools systems connect then? Getting rid of the Digilink connectors? and thus preventing you from connecting any expansion systems? No more connection to HD I/O units?
I imagine, in time, Avid will answer these questions :)

It's a pity it doesn't support Dante as well as AVB though...
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:07 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,533
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
So they are changing up the whole way that Protools systems connect then? Getting rid of the Digilink connectors? and thus preventing you from connecting any expansion systems? No more connection to HD I/O units?

How do they get over the 32 i/o limit with this box? Are they going to release some other AVB enabled i/o boxes in the future? And no Windows support for how long?

25 inputs just seems so...quaint in 2021.

I think I'll keep my Red 8 Pre for awhile longer yet.
no they are not

this is a different product that is aimed toward the project studios that do not already have HDX cards, it's simply a different type of connection. I'm speculating here but it maybe also for ease of use for on road recording with AVB systems.

There's no mention on when for Windows, if at all.
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,324
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

I am also wondering about the 32 IO limit, but I'm not even sure if Carbon goes UP TO 32
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:02 PM
melodydetective melodydetective is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 95
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
The interface should still work on it's own, but as an interface only, you won't get any of the additional benefit of the interface.
It should work. Like HD drivers should work forever? If you have first-hand knowledge that it will remain supported or that drivers will be free, I’m happy to hear that. Otherwise...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Mac Pro 12-Core, 128GB RAM, Mojave, Sonnet chassis, HDX, 16x16 HD|IO; 5,1 Mac Pro 12-Core at 3.46 GHz, 64GB RAM; PT Ultimate 2019.6.0.370; Video Slave 4 Pro; Aja T-Tap; Composer Tools Pro; VEPro; SM, AM, SF, 8DIO, EW, JFK,JFC, MTBF, TL;DR
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:06 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,531
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Mac only. Windows does not support AVB natively. Questions about when Windows will have been asked as far back as 2013. There is at least one software - expensive - and one hardware solution that I know of, but I have no knowledge of if/how well they work or if they would work with this new interface.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:48 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,850
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
this is a different product that is aimed toward the project studios that do not already have HDX cards, it's simply a different type of connection. I'm speculating here but it maybe also for ease of use for on road recording with AVB systems.
AVB isn't a home studio protocol. It's a full blow professional networking protocol. Why they dropped Thunderbolt for AVB is asinine.

I wouldn't be able to use this system for a touring show. My last tour had around 110 inputs. This is not even in the same league.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 11-12-2020, 07:51 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 878
Default Re: Avid will announce new DSP product(s) next week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
AVB isn't a home studio protocol. It's a full blow professional networking protocol. Why they dropped Thunderbolt for AVB is asinine.

.....
I disagree with you.

This article covers tons of info...

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...-carbon-review

I'll quote it here... they explain it better than I could

and I quote:

"Why AVB?

To connect with AVB instead of Thunderbolt might seem an odd choice but the decision is driven by a desire to future-proof Pro Tools Carbon from the inevitable march of progress in computer data connectivity.

While connectors come and go from computers the ethernet port seems likely to be around for a long time, although on some laptops this has to be via adaptors.

The current MacBook Pros work with Pro Tools Carbon via a Thunderbolt 3 to Ethernet adaptor.*

One other thing to be aware of is that if you are using an Ethernet port to connect to Pro Tools Carbon via AVB you will have to use a different port for other Ethernet duties such as Eucon or connecting to a network.

The choice of AVB might surprise some but Avid have been using AVB in their line of live systems like the S6L for years. Unlike Dante, it offers deterministic rather than best-effort delivery."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have been waiting for Avid to approve a license transfer for a week. ANYONE? AVID? wreckthisplace Licensing & Accounts 24 11-16-2016 04:22 AM
AVID and Gobbler Announce Upcoming Integration Pirate Post Post - Surround - Video 24 11-11-2012 11:15 PM
You (AVID) didn't had the guts to announce the HD software upgrade price live... Fidelis Pro Tools 10 1 10-21-2011 07:46 AM
Loud and avid announce licensing agreement Jay_uk General Discussion 4 12-15-2009 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com