Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 04-10-2018, 05:08 AM

Default Fleetwood Mac

Taking Christopher's cue I'm starting a new thread about Fleetwood Mac and their members.

Lindsey Buckingham is self-taught on guitar. Sometimes you don't need formal lessons to get a great sound. That being said I find his playing at times a bit sloppy although his fingerstyle is exellent. Guitar by Rick Turner and that sole pickup is rotatable although he never turns it.

FM without Lindsey - yeah it'll be a different sound and this is not the first time he's left the band. Actually I read one story that says he left and another that he was fired. I guess it's all perception. As to different sound how many remember that Peter Green was the original guitarist and how the sound changed when he left?

Also with Lindsey gone I wonder how the band's backline will change now that they won't have all those amps in back of Lindsey's position? And I wonder how many were actually used as in the concert dvd's of the group not all the amps are mic'd up.

As to Mike Campbell he was/is the guitarist for Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers.

QAPLA!
Old 04-10-2018, 05:34 AM

Default Re: Fleetwood Mac

Ha! Wikipedia already has Mike Campbell and Neil Finn as "Members" of the band, and Lindsey as a "Past Member". Not that Wikipedia is always correct.

Over the years, Mike Campbell has been involved in some side projects, so I would classify this as one of them.

As for Lindsey, how would you feel getting "fired" at age 68? You would think by now the band members would be able to put their differences aside, or at least acknowledge that they are never going to agree on certain things.