Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2003, 08:41 AM
MIA Tech MIA Tech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 1
Default New G5 PCI Slots

Does anyone know the details of the Apple G5's new PCI-X slots? I see they're at 133 MHz and the G4's were only at 33 MHz. Are the Digi001 cards going to work in these new boxes?
__________________
Geoff Warder
Music Industry Arts
Fanshawe College
London, ON, Canada
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2003, 10:16 AM
artguilljr artguilljr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 185
Default Re: New G5 PCI Slots

if im not mistaken they will work but it will pull the speed of that bus, along with the other cards down to 33Mhz.
again im not sure of this.
__________________
Art Guillermo Jr.
Owner
Trans-Plant A/V (San Antonio, Tx)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2003, 10:25 AM
artguilljr artguilljr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 185
Default Re: New G5 PCI Slots

found it....
PCI-X FAQ

Q.*
Will PCI-X systems allow the use of conventional PCI and PCI-X cards within the same server?


A.*
Yes, PCI-X systems will allow the use of both PCI and PCI-X cards on the same bus, however the bus speed will default to the speed of the slowest card. For instance, if you placed a 66 MHz card in the same environment as a 133 MHz card, the bus speed would operate at 66 MHz.

*


Q.*
Will conventional PCI cards be compatible in PCI-X based systems?


A.*
Yes, conventional PCI cards will be compatible in PCI-X systems. The PCI card will run at its assigned speed (either 33 MHz or 66 MHz), and will experience no speed improvements due to operating in a PCI-X environment.
__________________
Art Guillermo Jr.
Owner
Trans-Plant A/V (San Antonio, Tx)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2003, 01:33 AM
mhinsz mhinsz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MN
Posts: 59
Default Re: New G5 PCI Slots

I was gonig to point this out earlier, but I had to go back and double check.

The Mac PCI-X slots are different on each variation of the G5. Only the top 2 processor speeds have the faster PCI slots, the lowest doesn't.

Check out the specs.

http://www.apple.com/powermac/specs.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What pci slots are these? theaps Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2013 02:58 AM
PCI Slots abre Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-11-2007 01:35 PM
AD 192 slots......Can I do? wasabi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-24-2006 04:14 PM
PCI Slots for HD 2 Brianmcnamara Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-01-2006 01:16 PM
too many slots on the tdm bus? blvdrec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-08-2006 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com