Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:06 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugarnutz View Post
If you get 256 tracks with each HDX card, then a new Mac Pro with HDX6 would give 1536 voices. After the update that goes to 384 per HDX card and makes it 2304 voices. Sounds good to me!
Nope. Already stated by Avid you'll only get 1024 voices (HDX4) max with an HDX6 system (interview with Avid VP.) No matter what (the upcoming voice increase/card won't change this.) Extra 2 cards become processing only and I/O
You will be able to use all the cards for I/O though -- 384 I/O max now.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-19-2019, 12:48 PM
sound01 sound01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 88
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
Quite disappointed here over the hdx thing. The ONLY reason I renewed my subscription was for the increased voice count on hdx...now I am not sure exactly what the $400 was for. I don't know what the "near future" means. Avid could always take the hit and swap out the cards for the 15% user base where the upgrade doesn't work. the simple fact that I've kept current with my subscription should mean something.

Something...
Same - Running 7.1.2 FX Sessions for films chews through the voices.

I paid my fee after Xmas, sure in the knowledge that more voices were coming in the 'near future', then I had to wait until May for 2019.5 and what do I get, nothing.... Oh, a new iPad layout for the free Control App, very helpful.

What's the point? Someone mentioned that they thought a HDX firmware update before the summer would sort this out. I'll take a bet on that, as I don't expect we'll be seeing anything new until the winter sets in. By which time, I and few other editors will probably have sold their HDX cards, bought native boxes and have pocketed the change.

I'll accept any reasonable offers for my card, if anyone's looking.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-23-2019, 03:52 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 503
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

What a major conundrum and catch 22.
I'm on a HDN and was ecstatic when I heard PT 2019 was adding 128 track. It's a HUGE plus and major breakthrough in workflow for late 5.1 films. At first PT11 broke the 32 bit barrier going 64 with more power and first time ever utilizing the Mac Pro's potential and of course being able to use more then the 3-4GB ram limit. So paid the re-instatement plan to go PT2019.5 of 1K, because of the added 128 voice ONLY to find out that now I have more tracks and thus using more (and of course more bus/aux/etc) more CPU and getting our beloved -9173. So I was opting to give in and get an HDX card for more HP in the CPU area. Every % helps in the CPU....ONLY....to find out that not only do I end up spending $3,699 for a card (plus the re-instatement of the $1,000) but I loose my extra 128 tracks and go back to 256 after spending about 5K?

Huh?
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-23-2019, 05:19 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
What a major conundrum and catch 22.
I'm on a HDN and was ecstatic when I heard PT 2019 was adding 128 track. It's a HUGE plus and major breakthrough in workflow for late 5.1 films. At first PT11 broke the 32 bit barrier going 64 with more power and first time ever utilizing the Mac Pro's potential and of course being able to use more then the 3-4GB ram limit. So paid the re-instatement plan to go PT2019.5 of 1K, because of the added 128 voice ONLY to find out that now I have more tracks and thus using more (and of course more bus/aux/etc) more CPU and getting our beloved -9173. So I was opting to give in and get an HDX card for more HP in the CPU area. Every % helps in the CPU....ONLY....to find out that not only do I end up spending $3,699 for a card (plus the re-instatement of the $1,000) but I loose my extra 128 tracks and go back to 256 after spending about 5K?

Huh?
Not that is disagree, but you can buy HDX cards used for less than 2k all day.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-03-2019, 11:32 AM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 669
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

They have been dark on this for too long. Im thinking about selling my hdx cards and grabbing a native card plus voice packs.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:18 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Too long? Hardly. They stated that there was a technical issue that prevented releasing a 2019.3 and what they did was releasing .5 and .6 while sorting it out, so if 3mth is too long I have to find that facepalm emoji somewhere.

Of course everyone would like it to happen yesterday, but so long as they don't say it cannot be done I wouldn't be too worried about it. Given the summertime, I wouldn't hold my breath for immediate release but if I had to guess, we're waiting for 2019.9(ish) with the voice upgrade.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:32 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 669
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

obviously what is too long or isnt too long is a personal decision. For instance, from what I know about you 3 years would be explained as fine.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

I'll just ignore that.

With that said, there are no promises that the voice upgrade even is going to happen, just rumors that Avid happened to confirm. They were seriously trying to include that into (then planned) 2019.3 release but can you blame them for not releasing it bcs they know certain percentage of cards would have failed on upgrade?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:51 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 669
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

what i blame them for is announcing it as a possibility. When they said they would do it the first thing I thought was "how?" and clearly thats exactly what the engineers are banging their heads on. "How can we do what the mba's tell us?"
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:53 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 669
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

anyways you should be happy. This means I'll be giving avid another $1500 in voice pack money.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools 2019 384 tracks per hdx card? FilterDecay Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-08-2019 12:31 PM
Group Edits on Shows Tracks Applied TeamContra Tips & Tricks 0 01-05-2015 11:02 AM
When I reopen it only shows 4 tracks. 4 consecutive songs now phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 09-18-2012 02:48 PM
C8 shows duplicates of session tracks bruce lang ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 01-12-2010 07:44 AM
Mix24 Farm Card shows up in OS-9 but not OSX 2relaxed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-21-2004 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com